Christmas market in Venice Mestre

Hello to all lovers of shopping on Fridays!
Today is a rather gloomy day. It rained two days in a row and I did not leave the house. And this morning I woke up and the first thing I did was look out the window, raising the heavy blinds. Gray skies... but no rain. And I decided to go to Mestre, which is very close to me. Take the train one stop for 7 minutes.
Immediately, when I went out into the city, I noticed that the city was preparing for the Christmas holidays. Streets, shop and restaurant windows were decorated with New Year's festive illumination.

My goal was to visit Mestre stores, because now there are discounts until Black Friday. I walked to the city center along Via Piave. The first thing I wanted to do was go to the Coin shopping center to see what kind of discounts are available on branded clothes and accessories. But I got into a real fairy tale. The city center was filled with a festive Christmas fair. The stalls with various goods glowed with bright illumination. Fun music was playing. People went and chose things they liked.

At the fair, you could buy various toys for the Christmas tree. Italians also love to decorate the windows and doors of their homes. Such wreaths were sold at the fair. Clothes, tablecloths, hats and gloves, sausages and meat products, a huge number of types of cheeses, vegetables and fruits. And, of course, flowers. The flowers are so beautiful, bright. But the number one seller is a flower called Stella di Natale. This flower is bathed in all Italian families at Christmas and symbolizes the Christmas star, which announces the birth of God's child. I bought such a flower for our home with Giuseppe. And I am very happy about it!

There were stalls at the fair, where you can eat delicious hot pastries or drink hot red wine. There was also entertainment for children. The huge carousel circled non-stop to cheerful music and the children rode with pleasure.

I walked around the entire fair, looking at the products on offer and the people who were present. Then I went to Piazza Erminio Ferretto. This is the central square of the historical center of Mestre. A Christmas tree decorated with thousands of bright light bulbs has already been put up on this square. The tall clock tower is also decorated with garlands that light up a little later. It is an amazing sight. "Che spettacolo!" - say the Italians. And it really is! There is something to see!

And what is a fair without fairy-tale characters? On the square I met three clowns on high stilts. They smiled cheerfully, made various faces and willingly posed for photographs. Near the Christmas tree, Babbo Natale and his gnome assistant also entertained children and adults. They were so real, as if they had just stepped off the pages of a children's fairy tale. Children were happy to take pictures as a souvenir and receive sweets. It was such a sweet act.

I had a great time. I visited the Christmas market and saw Mestre in a pre-holiday mood.
Friends! Let's do good and prepare to meet the birth of the son of God!
I'm happy to share my impressions with the wonderful #MarketFriday group, @dswigle !
See you next time at Hive!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now