Market Friday: Part I - Livestock Market without any Livestock (Shopping Edition)

What am I talking about? Right? How does that even make sense to name that place "Livestock market"? Here in my #nomnommarket post. I'll show you guys one in Bangkok that I just recently visited and how there's not any livestocks there.

S__4825092_0.jpg

It's very common in Thailand to have an market nearby where you live. I've shown you the one in Chiang Mai as I've written in Market Friday: My Flashy Foodie Market after Work. This time is a morning market. As I walked past it in the morning, I wanted to stop by and do a little shopping.

To answer those questions at the beginning of the post: The name of the market came from the location of the place, the Department of Livestock Development. They just lend the parking lot out for the market to set up.

LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_1.jpg


Actually, for me to say something like there's not any "livestock" at all is not particularly true. Here you can see from walking through the door a small shop on the left.
LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_6.jpg

It's called "Livestock Farm Outlet". The frozen meat, some cheese and other stuff were selling in there. Maybe one day if I need something from there, I'll write about it.

LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_7.jpg

The actual office building of the department of Livestock Development is pretty nice. It's like a classic almost antique kinda style.
LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_14.jpg

Let's explore this market

First thing I saw is the jeans stall. They look so nice in the morning sunlight.
LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_10.jpg

The price starts from only 80 THB or less than 3 USD. I like that they also sell multiple lengths of jeans.
LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_9.jpg

One thing that makes this market different from Market Friday: My Flashy Foodie Market after Work is they offer more clothes, which is good because I like looking at clothes, but I'm not buying them often though.
LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_12.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_15.jpg

There were some cute shirts and lots of colorful t-shirts to pick from.
LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_17.jpg
I think a print t-shirt like this is very "in" right now. I can always see them in a flea market like this.
LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_18.jpg

I really like this fat tiger shirt in the right photo. Sadly, I didn't buy it. I don't remember why, but I guess it felt too expensive at the time.

LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_20.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_22.jpg

This shop was selling bags! Mostly tote bags, which is very popular for, I'd say gen Y people. It's easy to make and easy to carry. It can look cute, silly (like the Spongebob one there) or more classy and sophisticated (like a minimal style of bag).

LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_51.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_52.jpg

If you want something small but practical for everyday use, this stall is the answer. I bought so much stuff from this one. Different coin bags with key chains, card holders with the necklace. That's something necessary for us Bangkokians, since we mostly live in a condo or an apartment, we'll all have a keycard to hold on to. Well, not just for apartment but for the office too.

LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_54.jpg

There are lots of different kinds and sizes of bags, for your lunchbox, your bottle, your documents, etc. I for one who never has enough of these bags. I love buying them from a place like this so much.
LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_55.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_56.jpg

This, I would say, is just like a one-buck store, where you can go in and get anything from a dollar. They were selling lots of different stuff, from plastic products (like baskets), to kitchen and bathroom stuff.

LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_61.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_62.jpg

Oh before leaving the market, remember to get some lottery tickets, you might get lucky today.

LINE_ALBUM_livestock market_231102_37.jpg


As I looked in my photo album, there are so many more photos, which can be bought from a normal Thai market. I don't want a post to be too long, so I have to take the other important part to the next one.

Thank you guys for joining me and remember..
stay local and keep supporting small business,

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle 🍜

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now