When Yearnings Turned to Cravings

PRELUDE
Since childhood, I yearned to taste a specific kind of local congee called goto, a variant of rice porridge here in the Philippines that is served with ox tripe, fried garlic, onion leaves and crumbled cracklings that have an orange or yellow colored broth due to annatto seeds and/or safflower extracts added.

Goto, also known as arroz caldo con goto.
1000014584.jpg

This porridge is seldomly available in my place because it is not yet popular in my region as the "in thing" at those times is another kind of congee known as arroz caldo, a rice porridge with chicken meat instead of ox tripe, goat or cow and/or carabao meat.

Arroz caldo
1000014581.jpg

So I grew up without tasting that variant of congee that uses meat like beef, mutton, or capretto and/or carabeef. Though there are some foodstands that sells such kind of food however, it is usually sold out easily because it is so rarely being served and I have to travel to the city to have a bowl.

FAST FORWARD TO YEAR 2022
Not until last year when me and my wife is going to the town aboard a motorcycle supposedly to have some beef ramen at another food stand we discovered after the pandemic, when I saw a very eye-catching signage along the road halfway to the town proper and the signage brought some sort of relief and happiness in my inner self as finally I will be able to have a taste of the food that I am yearning to eat after so many years! So we stopped to the foodstand and inquired if the goto is still available and like a child, I nearly jumped for joy when the service crew opened a large cauldron that is half filled with steaming hot newly cooked goto! The name of the foodstand by the way is Mamihan Ni Kuya Hanley atbp. literally translated in English as Bro. Hanley's Noodlehouse etc. which is located 2.175 miles away from my place with this coordinates 16.736940 N,120.344691E and with this plus code P8PV+PVF, Bacnotan, La Union.

Mamihan Ni Kuya Hanley
1000014592.jpg

The signage is so simple and yet, so eye-catching as they only made mention of the food they are serving in that establishment which are mami or ramen; goto and arroz caldo.

Irresistible beef ramen
1000014583.jpg

Aside from mami, goto and arroz caldo, Mamihan Ni Kuya Hanley atbp. also serves beef pares, which is literally translated in English as in pairs, this is a roadside food compose of braised beef stew with garlic fried rice, and a bowl of clear hot soup.

Beef pares
1000014588.jpg

To cut the story short, this establishment addressed my yearnings very well as the goto they served equalled or even better than the goto that I read from publications when I was young. The food they serve is budget friendly and very satisfying to eat. Besides, Mamihan Ni Kuya Hanley atbp. Have a very accommodating, courteous,and friendly staff and service crews that is ready to serve to the needs of every customer. I have also known that the establishment accepts working students in their workforce and for me, that is a must for every businesses nowadays to help ease the financial needs of students.

Arroz caldo con goto with chewy beef tripe and softened rice topped with hardboiled egg. Mamihan Ni Kuya Hanley atbp. only uses beef in most of their specialties. and the foods are cooked by the owner of the establishment, Kuya Hanley himself.
1000014587.jpg

This is my entry to Market Friday hosted by Ms. @dswigle . Best regards and greetings from the Pearl of the Orient Seas, The Philippines! Happy weekend everyone!🤗❤️👍🇵🇭

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now