Christmas in July with Market Friday


Welcome to #MarketFriday by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!)) Here it is, July, and we are here to celebrate Christmas in July! To all those in the Southern Hemisphere, this is for you! Oh, yes! The words are weaving and the heart is growing softer, I can almost feel the sprinkling of magic covering me. And yes, whoever started this tradition of Christmas in July was pure genius. Not for all the money spent on gifts we don't need, but for the love and blessings that are handed out so freely at this time of year. So, yes. Merry Christmas to you!


Evergreen Tree.jpg


I stepped outside to get a snippet of the green, in celebration of this wonderful day. I am guessing the cyber world will be really playing it up big! What started as a reason for Amazon to boost their sales during their normally quiet time of year has gone mainstream now. Fear of missing out has sparked other stores into action. All of my stores are having Christmas sales. This is being taken way out of control. Methinks it is just a sales ploy without the click and bait. They don't need to! It's Christmas!! In July.


christmas in July.jpg
source


Should I prepare the Christmas in July feast? I wonder if I can put a turkey on the grill? Let me get the shopping list going for the celebration. Turkey. Check. Potatoes. Check. Makings for fruitcake? Check. Check. This is turning out to be a production. Perhaps we will just check out the advance sales for all the participating stores. Last year, over 40 stores in the area participated in the special sales.



I was lucky that I remembered to go to the grocery store after Christmas, (the one in December!) buy some extra cranberries and put them in the freezer. On the morning of the celbration, I will get them out and prepare the cranberry sauce. One of my favorite parts of the meal.



In keeping with the spirit of almost Christmas, I put my Christmas Spode into service, enjoying my coffee and a little something in it. It's Christmas! Who can resist? I even painted my nails a little bit red. Ho! Ho! Ho!



I almost didn't go to the Christmas store, but, I couldn't resist! Who doesn't want to reproduce that wonderful feeling we all get from it? I would pay good money to have that same feeling. Are you with me? Let's go! After coffee, of course!


Christmas ball.png


It's close to getting out those ornaments! You know I can hardly wait! Magic, lights, and glitter. Oh, my! Unwrap your day with a twist of holiday magic. Embrace all that is shiny and bright with the day and share it with others around you. May that feeling of Christmas last forever, not for just one day… for loving, sharing, giving – and not to be put away like ornaments, lights, and tinsel on some box on a shelf. Well, of course, that will have to wait for the real deal. Oh, come all ye faithful. July 15th! Coming to a Hallmark near you!

Love.png

Christmas in July is an unofficial holiday. The term originated from the fact that in the southern hemisphere, Christmas is actually celebrated in the summer. Residents from that area began to throw Christmas celebrations in July, as that is the peak month of their winter season. Of course, I used the internet for those little-known facts and those facts may or may not be true. It's not like I checked with Facebook.



I do so love the Christmas season. It seems a little bit shinier; a little bit brighter than the rest of the year. The spirit of Christmas prompts people to do caring things for others. It’s that season of loving and giving – not just to those we love, our families, and friends, but people seem to reach out to see what they can find. Stretch that arm out, to those who see nothing to rejoice in, or for those we know are in desperate circumstances. And that, my friends, is a good enough reason to celebrate Christmas in July.

Center Crest.png


Pucker up baby!! It's Christmas in July and I carry my own mistletoe.

source


Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge!

How to Participate:

1. Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, Clothing, Plant or Animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo or an art auction. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for a service. I once went to a nail salon.
2. Take pictures! Be creative (or not)
3. Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
4. Post the picture(s)
5. Don't forget to use the Market Friday Community page #hive-196308 or hashtag #MarketFriday and @dswigle. Please try to remember these. I am having trouble finding all the posts
6. Drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them

It is always interesting to see the different markets around the globe! C’mon! Show me your market shots! I eagerly await them!


christmas two trees.jpg


I could not resist going to the Christmas store. Just to see what I might need for Christmas in December. It never hurts to shop a little early and they had some really striking pieces. I have to deduce that is only because I don't need them tonight. If I did, I would never find them. Isn't that the truth!


I hope you will join us as we share different markets. It has been such a pleasure to see markets from all over the world. Who doesn't love to see what they are selling? There is always a curiosity attached to foreign ingredients, different produce or any product sold. So, yes! I would love to see yours! So don't forget to take photos wherever you happen to be shopping - whether it be the grocery, art galleries, wherever money is exchanged for a service or for merchandise. Don't forget to use the hashtag #marketfriday and @dswigle.

Heart On A Course L.png

Please leave the link to your post here so it can easily be found by others. They will all be in one place!! Thank you! ❤


christmas scene.jpg


I am touched by the way the kindness has just radiated outward, wherever I went, whatever I did. Can we please do this kind of thing all year round? I promise it won't wear out!


STOP!! BRAIN TEASER AHEAD!!


source

Question: As a Christmas gift parents buy 16 computer games for their 3 children! The youngest gets 1/8 of the games, the middle child gets 1/4 of the games and the oldest gets 1/2 of the games.

How many games does each child receive and how many do the parents keep?


source

Answer: You have 1/8, 1/4 and 1/2. If you give them a common denominator of 16 then you end up with 2/16, 4/16 and 8/16 and so the answer is…
Youngest Child: 2 games
Middle Child: 4 games
Oldest Child: 8 games
Parents: 2 games


Heart Vine L.png

As always, there must be a flower. Always. To color my world. #alwaysaflower


pink.jpg


If you are getting that Christmas in July feeling, here are the top ten places in the United States that celebrate Christmas in July the best! Sneak a peek here.


christmas balls.jpg


Thanks for taking a walk on the wild side in memory of Christmas. It was fun and truly gave me some ideas for next Christmas. So thank you and I hope you have yourself a Merry Little Christmas! And if you get bored tonight, I know for a fact that the Hallmark Channel is only playing Christmas movies!

Balls  Green.gif

And just like that, this post is over! I hope you had a good time and yes! I know that Christmas in July is a bit odd, but, some days, you just have to give into it. So tie up those reindeer, sit down and let's have some dinner chased by a little egg nog and fruit cake! You know you want to! Cheers!!



Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul


I am intrigued by different cultures. It is exciting and yes! I would love to see yours! Don't forget to take photos wherever you happen to be shopping - whether it be the grocery store, the local marketplace, an art gallery, a kite festival or even a festival! Wherever money is exchanged for a service or for merchandise. Be different if you wish! It does not have to be a traditional market! Don't forget to use the hashtag #MarketFriday and @dswigle. And just like that, this post is done. Come back tomorrow and we'll do it again.

MarketFriday loves you!



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Some days, it is not as easy to see,just how wonderful it really is. For me, I try to do my part. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.


they set my aunts house on fire
i cried the way women on tv do
folding at the middle
like a five pound note.
i called the boy who use to love me
tried to ‘okay’ my voice
i said hello
he said warsan, what’s wrong, what’s happened?

i’ve been praying,
and these are what my prayers look like;
dear god
i come from two countries
one is thirsty
the other is on fire
both need water.

later that night
i held an atlas in my lap
ran my fingers across the whole world
and whispered,
"where does it hurt?"
it answered,

"everywhere"
"everywhere"
"everywhere"

warsan shire



#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center