Buying our foods at the Public Market of Tabogon

inbound3849391266161614208.jpg

Hello Hive! How are you today? I hope all of you are doing well. Please joined me as I show you all the public market of my hometown, Tabogon. It is in the Northern part of Cebu, Philippines.

inbound3726814816949072047.jpg
The newly constructed Public Market in the town of Tabogon

Tabogon is a huge town, and it has three parts: the mainland which is located on the seaside part of the town where the Municipal offices and the big market located, while the middle land is located on the center between the mainland and the upland and usually on that parts are farms and houses only. People in the area went to the mainland market or upland market to buy their foods and other stuff.

inbound4088184728858078814.jpg
My mother, niece, and I going to the market

On the other hand, the upland part is located on the highway going to Bogo City, Cebu. It is away from the shoreline; however, they also have everything on that part of the town like the market, bakery, pharmacy, gasoline station, hardware, restaurant, and many store that provides the needs of the people living in the area.

inbound3054951886210624692.jpg
I am riding a tricycle going home together with my nieces and my mother

I can ride a bus, motorcycle, or tricycle going to and come back from the market. However, there is a time limit for the transportation. It is not good to go to the market on late afternoon from our place because only few motorcycles or tricycle passed by. But I can wait and ride a bus because the bus from the city passed by every 30 minutes or 1 hour. If it happens that I went to the market in the late afternoon, I just make sure that I will finish buying our foods and other stuff in the market before 5:30 so I can ride the last trip bus going to the city.

inbound2276943686724434789.jpg
Fresh fish

It is much better also to go to the market in the morning because all the foods are fresh like the meat, fish, and other seafoods.

inbound3586388171490200842.jpg
Vegetables

I went to the market once a week to buy our foods and other stuff that we needed for a week. It is not easy to earn money that is why proper budgeting is really important.

inbound2576292593528646418.jpg
Different varieties of fish

The foods that I usually bought in the wet market are boneless pork meat, dressed chicken, fish, and shells.

inbound3878371430558837446.jpg

Moreover, I also bought eggs, dried fish, fruits, and vegetables. I usually buy vegetables on the vendors in the market lobby because their vegetables are usually organic, fresh, and lesser price compared to the vegetables sell inside the market. The vendors on the lobby usually harvest their vegetables from their own yard and farm.

inbound7062720278223162997.jpg

In addition, the vegetables that they sell usually do not have chemicals, pesticides, or commercial fertilizer because most of the local farmers in our town are using organic fertilizer like animal manure.

inbound162523948223534507.jpg
Vegetable vendors that sell on the side of the road just near the market

inbound9085179516502429942.jpg
The store where I usually buy rice and eggs

For the eggs, I always bought 1 tray of eggs so I can save a little amount of money because there are 30 pieces of eggs in a tray. Each tray has different prices depending on the sizes of the eggs, and I usually bought the small or medium size eggs.

After buying all the foods that we need and have an extra money, I bought pizza or sometimes an ice cream for the kids.

inbound383132173592458806.jpg
Hotdogs, boneless pork, chicken, and pork liver ready to be placed inside the freezer

When I arrived home, I clean all the fishes and meat that I bought. Then, I split it for how many days of consumption. Just like the 1 kilo of boneless pork, chicken, and pork liver, I divided it into 4 then pack it with a plastic bag then, place it inside the freezer.

The 1 kilo is good for 4 meals. I cook it with vegetables like cabbage, eggplant, string beans, chayote, beans, and other vegetables that we have in our refrigerator and in our yard. Furthermore, 1 kilo of hotdogs is budgeted into 5 packs.

inbound478304755842975792.jpg
I divided the fish according to its kind and sizes

The two kilo of fish is also divided depends on the kind of fish and its sizes.

inbound5370663467409711382.jpg
I am cleaning the fish in our dirty kitchen

Then, I clean it by removing the gills, intestine, the spines on the side of the fish, and I also removed the fish scale so that it is ready to cook when I get it from our freezer.

inbound4060793823053568086.jpg
After cleaning, I put the fish inside a small plastic bag.

Next, I put it inside the plastic bag and place it inside the freezer. I separated and put a mark on each bag of fish. On each bag of fish, there is intended for soup, steam, fried, and grilled.

Budgeting is not an easy task. We need to prioritize our needs than our wants. It is very important to know how to budget the money for foods for a week enough until the next pay.

That would be all for my Market Friday. Thank you for reading my blog and for having my back. Take care everyone.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center