Face your Fragility: Dealing with your projects weaknesses.

TLDR

Summary: This post discusses the importance of facing and addressing the fragility of projects, emphasizing the value of feedback from others in improving and strengthening them. Hope for a better tomorrow is also expressed for the community.

Innovation is wonderful but Fragility isn’t ..

  • Fragile products break a lot.
  • Once a project gets a reputation for being fragile, it’s hard to shake.
  • I have often recruit people to projects on Hive, but if I am successful, and these new people get here and stuff breaks, it is a big turn off. This is especially a bad experience if they try the product, it doesn't work, and then customer support is slow, and resolution takes a long time.
  • Personally,I think the first time your interface doesn't work, is a unique opportunity to show your customers you care and show some responsiveness to the event. Quite honestly, I think the reputation of projects could even be improved when their stuff breaks, if they were fast and responsive. A speedy resolution would go a long way. If you make them wait weeks or a month, it is a permanent bad impression.

Fragility

  • So when I designed the ten or so projects I have built on Steemit and then on Hive... they looked good on paper, but in the real work they didn't always work as I planned.
  • So to get better, I had to get better at dealing with feedback. And that made all the difference.
  • I couldn't make the projects better all by myself.
  • If I could, I would have made them better in the beginning.
  • Sure I learned stuff as I went along, but quite frankly I have only two eyes, two ears and I can't see the entire problem by myself. I can only see it from my point of view. That's not a handicap or flaw, it's just a reality.
  • We have a single, often 2 dimensional view of a 3 dimentional world. We need other peoples viewpoints to see the entirety of the problem.
  • So I needed feedback from people who could see things from a point of view that I didn't have...

Admit your point of view is limted and accept the point of view of others.

  • In the end, my most successful projects didn’t just reflect my own hard work, they reflected my ability to get better at taking feedback.
  • And you would be surprised at the progress you can make in improving your project, if you stop assuming that the end user did something wrong...and instead listen to what they did and what your interface did afterwards.
  • I am not saying users don’t make mistakes. I am just saying that none of us are perfect and all feedback is useful.

Last words... hope

  • So what are the chances this post will make a difference?
  • I have hope
  • Humans have a strong, sometimes irrational, non-mathematical quality, called hope.
  • Here’s hoping for a better tomorrow on a community I love.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center