My Mushroom Empire is Dead in The Water

I might be being a little dramatic, as I never had an empire so much as an inkling of an idea that I could sell my bucket mushrooms locally when I did a grow for myself. In this way it wouldn't cost me anything but time, and I'd make a wee profit that would pay for the next bags of spawn.

received_475720187891432.jpeg

When I shouted out for anyone who was interested, I got over twenty excited people saying yes please. I contacted them, got confirmation and let them know the price. Excellent.

But then, when the buckets were ready, the problems began.

Three of twenty picked them up immediately and gave me the cash. Three. The others delayed and made excuses about why they couldn't pick them up until I had to just write it off as a loss. Two I delivered to friends, because if I didn't, they wouldn't have picked up as they were 'busy' and seemed to think the mushrooms would sit there for months until they were ready to pick up.

One of those woman I'm still waiting for the money three months on. She wanted to give me the cash when we caught up, but I haven't seen her for a year, so how long did she want me to wait? I texted her about it Friday, saying to transfer via bank account, and she has seen the message, but hasn't replied.

As I was doing more grows last week, I said yes to a friend who wanted two buckets. A week later and she still hasn't picked them up, and I am not convinced she will get around to it. Another woman said she'd pick up this week, but is vague about when. Another I insisted on bank transfer before I did the mushrooms and they insisted, in return, that they'd have cash on pick up and definitely want them. I asked how many buckets, and then - silence. No reply.

What the actual fuck. What is wrong with people?

I feel let down and really annoyed. And disappointed and upset! As well as broke. Do people not understand or appreciate that it costs me time and money to do the mushrooms? Do they not care? Do they think I'm unreasonable to ask for the measley $25 for the bucket (cheaper than anywhere else) and think it's not a big deal to pay or pick up 'whenever'?

So for now, I'm not making buckets for anyone unless I get payment first. And I'll make a firm pick up date, and if they aren't picked up by then, they'll lose their cash.

I don't like being taken advantage of, it upsets me. Alot. I really don't have mush room in my life for that kind of bullshit.

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center