Grocery Shopping on a Shoestring Budget When You're in Financial Pizdec



What to do?



20221218_140751168.jpg

As we enter 2023, it seems like many of us are facing “financial pizdec”. For anyone in crypto, the market has been plagued with FUD while for those who aren’t are also facing possible layoffs and many looming financial struggles. Some people predict that 2023 will be a difficult year financially but I see it as an opportunity to be more mindful of my spending and save up for the future. To help me stay on track, I've been revisiting the videos of my favorite YouTuber, Life of Boris, who has a series called "Budget" where he offers advice on how to survive on a tight budget. He’a also the one who taught me that term, “financial pizdec”. In these videos, he gives tips on how to stretch small amounts of money, like $50/month or $12 per week. As you see, these amounts are small and it is challenging to make them last for a month. However, with the right strategies and mindset, it's possible to stretch our budget and make the most of our resources.

Video from one and only Slav king.

In many of Life of Boris' videos, he suggests living near a generous babushka to help stretch our budget. However, if you don't have access to a babushka garden like I do, you can still find ways to make the most of a small budget.In the past, I've had to live on a very tight budget of around $45 per month. Life of Boris provided some helpful tips and ideas for how to make the most of a small budget. However, his cooking often focuses on a Slavic-based diet with ingredients like potatoes, onions, bread, and butter. While he does sometimes incorporate other ingredients into his meals, potatoes are a staple in many of his dishes. One thing I appreciate about Life of Boris is that he emphasizes both nutrition and flavor in his cooking, even when working with limited resources.

Our diet may be completely different but we all can agree that we need carbohydrate, protein, and fiber. Although ramen is a cheap and convenient option, it is not a good way to sustain your life long-term even if you’re on financial pizdec. So, if you don’t know what to do, then maybe some of this stuff will help you!


Video from one and only Slav king.

I wish my parents had taught me about budgeting and "survival mode" when I was growing up. Unfortunately, I had to learn these skills the hard way in the past few years. However, I have become skiled at living in "survival mode" and making the most of limited resources. Although many people reading this may be older, I hope that sharing my experience can be helpful to anyone who may be facing financial challenges and looking for ways to stretch their budget.

thumbnail.jpg

Numero Uno, identify the carbohydrates that you enjoy eating and know how much of them you typically consume

I recently set myself a challenge to spend only $15 per week on groceries, which is even less than the budget featured in Life of Boris' videos. In Indonesia, it's possible to shop at traditional markets, but I prefer to go to a grocery store because I have a membership and can use discounts and coupons. At first, I was unsure about how to make the most of such a small budget, but I quickly learned that it's possible to eat well on $15 per week if you know how to cook with the ingredients you have. One tip I would recommend is to identify the carbohydrates that you enjoy eating and know how much of them you typically consume.

DSC00798.JPG

For example, I like to eat bread, potatoes, and rice. But I only eat little, so I would get a good bread for $1 that would last exactly 7 days, 4 small potatoes for $0.50, oatmeal for $1and 2.5kg of rice that cost me $2.05. This rice will last me for 3 weeks because I rarely eat rice. For carbs, I ended up spending $4.55. Now that we get the carbohydrate covered, we just need protein and fiber to pair with it.

thumbnail.jpg

Finding affordable protein and fiber sources and pairing them in creative ways to make meals satisfying and nutritious.

20221218_135836932.jpg

For protein and fiber, my budget was $7. I was surprised to find what I can actually buy with it. I ended up getting 10 eggs which is $1.25. When my mom is not around, I only get 6 eggs which cost half of the price. Egg is a good source of protein when you’re in financial pizdec. Then, I also get tempe for $0.40 that would last me 2 days. Since I drink milk, I also get 500ml of milk for $1.2. A pack of carrots was costing me $1, this last 7 days. Then, I would add vegetables like spinach, watercress, and water spinach in total for $0.70.

20221218_135553710.jpg

20221218_135601518.jpg

For more extra nutrition I added a pack of corned beef and a pack of sardine for $1. Then, I would scan the fruit section to find seasonal fruit and I am often surprised by it too. I usually get apples for $1 and I’d get 4 of them while the rest, I found half cut watermelon/papaya for 0.40. $7 is plenty as long as you don’t eat steak and seafood. Maybe when you get rich again, you can have some steak. So, my second tip would be finding affordable protein and fiber sources and pairing them in creative ways to make meals satisfying and nutritious. When you think there’s nothing, it’s really about pairing them!

DSC00792.JPG

thumbnail.jpg

Finding discounts and coupons for less important ingredients and snacks

DSC00796.JPG

Now, there’s $3.5 left and In Indonesia’s currency, it’s quite a bit of money to spend on snack, and spices. During my last visit to the grocery store, I was able to buy chocolate bites for $0.70 and I was adding onions that were costing me $0.60. Then, I was able to buy 4 fiber wafers and chocopie all only for $2 because I was using one of the coupons I have for my members. For $0.20 I bought a pack of oyster seasoning for my water spinach. My third tip is about finding discounts and coupons for less important ingredients.

thumbnail.jpg

In my budget, I don't include items that I already have at home, such as oil and peanut butter jam. I use coconut oil, which can be expensive but lasts me for 4-5 weeks. So you can just say, those are only for fresh ingredients.Finally, it's important to make the most of what you already have by incorporating it with fresh ingredients that you purchase.By cooking at home and not relying on delivery orders, I was able to save a significant amount of money. So, that's all from me today!

thumbnail.jpg

I'm taking a break from my usual topics to share some of my expertise in grocery shopping on a tight budget. As a self-proclaimed expert 😂 in this area, I want to help others save money and make the most of the budget. Stay healthy even if you're in finacial pizdec!

thumbnail.jpg

Mac's Pinmapple Travel List

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this ! You can also support me below!


image.png𝘔𝘢𝘤 𝘪𝘴 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧-𝘦𝘮𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘺𝘦𝘥 𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘫𝘢. 𝘈 𝘵𝘺𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦, 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩𝘯𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘨𝘺 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘰𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘺. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘫𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘯𝘦𝘺 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘷𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘰 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘱𝘩𝘺, 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘭, 𝘯𝘰𝘰𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘴, 𝘱𝘳𝘰𝘥𝘶𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘷𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘮𝘪𝘯𝘪𝘮𝘢𝘭𝘪𝘴𝘵 𝘭𝘪𝘧𝘦𝘴𝘵𝘺𝘭𝘦, 𝘤𝘺𝘣𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘤𝘶𝘳𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘢𝘯𝘨𝘶𝘢𝘨𝘦𝘴. 𝘐𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘧𝘳𝘦𝘦 𝘵𝘪𝘮𝘦, 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘫𝘰𝘺𝘴 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘷𝘢𝘳𝘪𝘰𝘶𝘴 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘯𝘨𝘴. 𝘐𝘧 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘭𝘪𝘬𝘦 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘵𝘦𝘯𝘵, 𝘥𝘰𝘯'𝘵 𝘩𝘦𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘶𝘱𝘷𝘰𝘵𝘦, 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘢 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬. 𝘈 𝘳𝘦-𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘪𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘴𝘰 𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘥.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now