Every Franchise Is Dying

I'm sick of constantly hearing news about each franchise out there. It seems as though we can't go more than a few months without seeing a beloved franchise being turned into nothing more than a megaphone, used by people to spout whatever the new trendy message is.



Source


Social Commentary

Stories have always been used to subtly convey some kind of message, and they're usually good ways to present ideas, so long as the writers and creators are able to do so without being heavy-handed.

Many filmmakers, writers, and even musicians were able to do so lightly, and their number one goal was to write a good song or tell a good story first; that was their primary goal. Now, however, it very much seems like people - somehow - find themselves at the head of studios, in charge of franchises they don't even like. It's as if they get in, sit down, and say, "I hate this particular franchise, so I'm going to turn it into a vehicle to put forward these things I've been thinking about," Or, more likely they say, "I hate this particular franchise, and I've been told to put forward X, Y, and Z messages, and I'll be the one to take the flack from annoyed fans of this franchise."

It sucks to see it constantly happen, and the most reason I've heard about this morning is Halo. I'm just sick of everything I like, and that I've grown up with being destroyed.

It's not like a new audience is being brought into any of these franchises, instead, the old audience is just being alienated.



Source


Fans Fiction

I'm starting to think that fans should just start creating their own stories within the universe, and just take creative control from the muppets who constantly find themselves in control of these franchises.

There should be some sort of renaissance for people who have had enough of seeing their favourite characters being turned into shadows of their former selves.

Fan fictions have always kind of been a big part of different franchises, so maybe it's time for them to start overtaking the studios, and start creating some actual good stories for a change.

It used to be that fan fiction was nowhere near as good as what studios could create, but now it seems to be the exact opposite.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center