Finally the most overrated party of the year is over again. Happy 2024 guys!!

Happy new year guys! May the crypto gods be with us this year and that health, love and an abundance of crypto may pour over all of us!

That being said...I am super happy that the most overrated party of the year is over again. All the pressure is finally off the cooker and the expectations can be lowered again. Maybe New Years eve is even more overrated that Christmas even?


Pixabay


Already in September or October the question starts to pop up by people already. 'Did you get tickets for party x-y-z. Do you know what you are doing with new years eve?'

I try to bounce this question for as long as possible. Sure if there is a cool event I might consider going, but often that even is just a nice event even if it was also hosted on any other day as well.

The around December the questions start to get a bit more serious on what you intend to be doing. In the week between Christmas and New Years it is like there is no option in dodging the question anymore, you have to have decided what you will be doing on new years eve and it has to be with other people and in a cozy atmosphere and a dresscode.





Eventually I decided to hook in with some buddies on a low key setting with some 'oliebollen' (I don't really know what you call them in English but these are like doughnuts coming but the fried and with some sugar on top, but we call the oliebollen, which literally translated is 'oilballs' hahah), and it was actually really nice.



Pixabay


But I remember in another year that I decided to go home after an evening shift of work and just the countdown moment by myself and I didn't really like it. I was good on the element of just chilling at home, but I was not really okay with the amount of times that I had to tell people I didn't do anything and just headed home and then had to absorb the very judgemental faces coming after that.

It wasn't about staying home. It was about 'telling other people that you stayed home' and I almost felt embarred by it. Not doing that again.

The funny thing is, on any regular night you can tell the world that you don't feel like going anywhere, but on new years eve, it doesn't really feel like an option? (I know...I bolt under peer pressure and opinions from others)





Did I already mention how much fireworks suck?

Nooooo...not the professional shows, those are beautiful and really are an addition to any experience especially since any pyro show now is just getting cooler and cooler.

No, I am talking about the fireworks that you buy yourself, and on a bit too windy day some a bit too drunk people decide to ignite them on a bit too crowded street. Those fireworks.



Omroepbrabant.nl


And the amount of damage coming from those fireworks. People blowing their hands off, cars set on fire, firworks ended up on wooden roofs leaving a fire. So much damage every year and we all are okay with that.

This year was the first time that the city of Eindhoven had a fireworks ban for civilians, but they were hosting a big show in the centre of the city. Fair play if you ask me. Ban something, but organize something next to it.

Yes there was a bit less fireworks...But a ban? Nehhh, you couldn't really see anything out of that.

I am just happy this is all over again. It just feels overrated...or am I just getting old??

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now