When Making This Origami Took Me Two Days To Finish, But Still Failed (A Very Tragic Story)

Spoiler Alert: A tragic and annoying ending. It's not in my plan to write today, but I currently have spare time, although I know that I will be turning zombie again since I need to attend an activity in our school. Until now, it's still not yet sinking in my mind that I failed to pass this output despite committing multiple tries. Personally, attaining this failure made my anger in doing art arises more.

Picsart_22-11-10_21-33-21-499.jpg


Ever since I was a kid, I felt the curse of doing any visual arts in every school project. I'm a big fan of watching behind the scenes of portrait paintings, detailed sculptures, paper crafts, and other skills that use their blood, tears, and sweat. However, that's the only support I can give to appreciate the beauty of their craft. While looking at their works, I can't help to be amazed. Who wouldn't be? Looking at their artworks defines how artists try to make creativity while I'm opposed to that character.

IMG_20221104_181427.jpg

The first video is my reference, while the photo above portrays that scene. It is one of my requirements for our minor subject, Art Appreciation, so I don't have to choose. We can choose among the three crafts stated in the module, but I decided on the paper craft as that's the only resource I have at home. Since midterms, I'm starting to hate this subject because of the different arts we need to perform, although I don't have much problem with the teacher. I think she's just doing her responsibility to teach us about her sub. I like her professionalism, but her tasks are not in my niche.

If you'll ask why I didn't continue it, it's because of these reasons:

  • Unclear instructions
  • The colored paper I bought is hard

Therefore, I chose to find another video on the internet still related to Origami. This video looks easy to follow, so I used it as my reference. And also, the materials I need are only in my bag without using any glue.

IMG_20221104_181430.jpg

IMG_20221104_214506.jpg

The pattern of doing the small pieces of paper is just like a piece of cake. However, it's pretty time-consuming because I spent two hours listening to "Midnights" to create about 128 pieces. When I tried to do the layout, I thought I already knew what to do. I didn't watch the whole procedure, so that's the first reason why I got my first failed attempt. It took me two hours to figure out what was wrong, but I realized that it's me, I'm the problem is me. It's bitter to swallow that I wasted two hours for nothing. That's why I was not feeling well the next day, as I prioritized it rather than doing my other obligations.

IMG_20221106_135637.jpg

I continued it the next day as I rested on my academic workload for a whole day. In the entire afternoon, I spent all my time mastering the creation of a swan. Pretty eager to do it because that's my only choice. Despite my eagerness, my output failed again as I didn't count the pieces I needed per layer.

IMG_20221106_172636.jpg

That's why I repeated the process, and it's already a lesson to count all the pieces I need per phase to avoid again from wasting my time. I get confused with the holes but look at the progress. I already made it. That's why I bragged to them that my efforts were all worth it.

IMG_20221106_195052.jpg

IMG_20221106_214950.jpg

Since the origami pieces were not enough, I decided to make new pages and finished them with patience. However, I asked my mother how I would bring it to school since I feel like it will start falling in pieces sooner or later. I admit that I just passed out those red signs. I'm c0l0r3d bl1nd if you don't mind.

Fast forward, it's already Tuesday. I plan to create a blog about what happened on the last day of my upcoming blogs, so I hope you can check it in my account. I need to be busy with my academic life; specifically, I have many events to attend this week. A win-win situation for me because I can finally get quality topics to be written if I am not busy.

IMG_20221105_203347.jpg

About the submission, I ignored the signs, and I still brought it to our university. That decision is one of the dumbest things I've done this year. I just put it in my aloe vera cylinder because that's the only place I can store it, which I thought would be safe. It's still a big regret that I felt that a minor fix could already do its part. When I was in the university, I tried to revive it, but those pieces seemed like they would already give up. Good thing that they didn't look at me struggling and not pretend to be concerned since I guess it would make me more upset. If I would describe them, my classmates are not plastic like what you view in the movies. If I dodo did not just think that I'm a college student, I think I'll already cry in frustration.

I still tried my best to ask for consideration, though. However, she rejected it as a form of fairness as I only posted a picture compared to them, who showed a physical replica. I don't know if I still have an appetite to do another art activity again. The only consideration I will get is the late passing by next week. Of course, it's already a moral lesson that I will not attempt that bullshit origami again.

Did you know I can do a paper craft according to my skills like super easy? I don't care if it will take me time, but I need to submit something from my professor before I become it a regret. I'm terrible with creativity, so please bear with me. Imagine wasting for more than a day for nothing but you're still disappointed. I just wished I could still do something to pass in Arts even though it is only my minor subject.


image.png

Anyway, thank you for reading, everyone. This is my entry for Rant, Complain, and Talk. I hope you are all doing fine. Always remember that there's no enough reason to give up as long it is still visible that there's still hope. For more microblog and blog updates, follow me in these accounts.

noise.cash and noise.app: boringwriter
read.cash: kingofreview
All Hive Accounts: iamboring

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center