It's $2,999 - Are you game?

20220716_111509.jpg

Each player must accept the cards life deals him or her: but once they are in hand, he or she alone must decide how to play the cards in order to win the game.

- Voltaire -



I've never really been a gamer due to a lack of interest in sitting around playing make believe in front of a computer screen for hours on end. Being able to say, "I levelled up," or, "I killed the big boss" doesn't hold much interest. I understand that many love gaming though, and that's their prerogative.

Having said the above though, I have played computer games and had a reasonable time doing it as a younger person...until I got bored as fuck and moved on. I once played Killzone all the way to the end, killed the big boss y'all, and had the thumb-soreness to prove it and used to play Ghost Recon online with my brothers which wasn't too bad fun. Mostly though, I preferred real life and the valuable rewards that came from engaging with it.

I recall playing one of, if not the first, digital game back when I was a kid. It wasn't my own, my parents couldn't afford things like that, but one of our family friends had it...It was that game that plugged into the television set and was like tennis...It had one bar to left and right that the players could move vertically and a little ball bounced around the screen. The players had to bounce the ball off their bar back to the other player who had to do the same. I played it for hours a couple times and then, predictably, I got bored and never played it again.

It wasn't very high-tech but it was the forerunner to what is out there these days I guess...and what is out there is mindboggling!

Recently I was out and about looking for a new multi-function-centre (print/scan/copy thingy) for my home office and whist in the store took a look around at some of the other stuff out of curiosity and that's when I came across this monitor.

It's the Samsung, Odyssey Neo G9 49" curved DQHD gaming monitor and it's bloody ridiculous! Seriously, do people spend this sort of money to play games?

At home in my office, my laptop connects to two rather large monitors; I use them for work and whilst I could do without them, they make life easier, and me more time-efficient. Both of them together cost me under $1,000 Australian dollars which is tax deductible. Doing my job generates income and doing my job more efficiently gives me the ability to earn more income. It makes sense to me.

Is it just me or does $2,999 Australian dollars for that gaming monitor sound like a lot of money? Who buys something like this for gaming?

I didn't look at the price of the computer but I assume it was also a lot. I looked up an ALIENWARE AURORA R13 GAMING DESKTOP at $4,400 Australian dollars, so assume they're all around the same cost. Add in the other bits and pieces, a fast internet service, gaming chair and so on, and there's not much change from $10,000 I guess...to play a computer game. Fucken bonkers. (Just my opinion.)


Are you a gamer and if so do you spend this sort of money on your rig? I know there's gaming contests and competitions out there and assume there's some sort of financial reward for winning so I guess those gaming at professional level might be able to justify this sort of investment but how about you? Let me know what set up you have and how it performs, what benefits it has for you when it comes to gaming.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

The image in this post is mine, taken at Harvey Norman

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center