A thought on your soft skills

Image on Pixabay by pixel2013

I have been talking to my son in law yesterday. We spent some time together talking about work and the projects he has going to replace his missing income. The company he works for lost a the contract he worked on and his pay were cut in half.

The conversation started going around the online shop he started up.

He opened an online shop specifically for the South African market and then, after stocking it, he got in an 'expert' to get it promoted.

After a month of listening to expert explanations, he still had no sales.

In the world we live in today, with all of the advances the Fourth Industrial Revolution brought us, changes are swift and experts many. The skills you have, in the end is key.

With all of the changes, the soft skills you have is what will carry you through. Especially the ones helping you deal with online problems.

Even when you are not the one that will actually be doing the job, knowing the basics will save you from a lot of suffering at the hand of some of the 'experts'.

Updating your skillset need not be difficult or expensive.

Image on Pixabay by Pexels*

There are numerous free MOOC's available online. It simply takes sitting down and doing.

After my conversation with my son in law I seriously considered my own skillset. The first thing I tackled is a basic online marketing course on learndigital.withgoogle.com.

Even If I never do the job, Knowing what is happening is priceless.

Thank you for reading my post. Your upvote is greatly appreciated.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now