Mare of a drive home and £220 out of pocket but that’s not the end.

Sorry Hivers I’ve not posted for a but now and an again things really get my goat up. Last week I took @scubahead up to his narrow boat in Devizes. I should have known it was going to one of those days as we were being really tailgated and I missed the turnoff so arrived about 30 minuets late after a bit of a detour, but that’s not what this is about.

IMG_3160.jpeg

The drive back from Devizes to the A303 is on the A360. The road is not that wide and still used by a lot of trucks so there are a lot of potholes and the edges are really rutted. A large farm tractor was coming the other way and bang I dropped off in to a large rain filled rut at the side of the road. Flattened the front tire and took a chunk out of the rear. So not a happy bunny!!! So after stopping I managed to pump up the flat which got me to the A303, another go with my tire inflator got me about 10 miles on the 3O3 and parked in a lay-bye so with 100miles to go it’s time to call the RAC.

So Hivers what went right. Using the RAC app was easy logging the incident details and I got a call back on my mobile in about 10 minutes but that’s about it, the options were Truck home but no recovery vehicle was available for quite a few hours or a mobile tire fitter in about an hour. Wrong choice as it happened. Anyway I got a call from the mobile tire fitter about 10 minutes later to confirm the tire size and location. So then it’s a case of sitting and waiting.

IMG_3172.jpeg

The view in my rear view about 1 1/2 hours later ☹️. I must say the van was well kitted out.
IMG_3166.jpeg

And the chap was very pleasant.

IMG_3167.jpeg

Fitting the tire took about 40 minutes all balanced and sorted not that it makes much difference.

IMG_3165.jpeg

IMG_3169.jpeg

There you have it Hivers around 4 hours since the pothole and I’m back on my way.
But what to moan about The RAC and the mobile fitter confirmed the price of the work before coming out but not what crappy Chinese rubber ring that would be fitted for £220.

IMG_3174.jpeg

Mind you the drive home was interesting The miss match on the front tires was giving causing exciting roundabouts and cornering. So £220 or not it wont be staying and the is a nice ding on the rear wheel and a chunk out of that tire to so that needs sorting, wheel referbs and a new set of winter tires are on the cards and booked. So total cost of the journey £220 for getting me back on the road, new 4 new boots for the TT ( OK I was planning to replace them for the winter but this is a lot sooner than I was budgeting for) so that’s another £500. All 4 wheels to get sorted and powder coated £400.

So Hivers home around 4 hours late and an eventual total £1120 out of pocket for the journey. Maybe a bit of Hive will take the sting out of it 😉 sorry it’s a bit of a wordy rant.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center