Polygamy

Hi Hivers. With hope everyone is doing ok.

IMG_20220427_192826.jpg

So I wokeup to a news making rounds on the internet about a popular Nollywood actor, Yul edochie. How he came out to tell the world to say that he has second wife and they have a son together.

IMG_20220427_192749.jpg

Alot of people have been talking and blaming the actor cum movie director for his shameful act having recently posted on his page that his first wife stood by him 17 years ago, when he had nothing. So how come he still went ahead to get a second wife after praising his first wife for her sacrifice all these years?

I had no sustainable job when I got married, she said she'll manage. She never frustrated me for one day. It's been 16years of marriage now. We are happy. Different things work for different people
from Instagram
This made me do some research last night. I also read the bible to see if his actions can be justified in one way or the other. So my question is, Is polygamy wrong?
From an typical African man's point of view, polygamy isn't wrong. This is so because our culture supports it. Not until the westeners brought us christainity, polygamy was a thing. I am sure alot of us had grandparents and even fathers who ended up with more than one women.

My next argument will be, is it morally right? Let's just say because of the present life style and economic hardship and of course women not accepting to let their husband's marry another wife. Infact getting another women into the house is like inviting people to come and watch third world war. So to avoid all these problems, the society and the church preaches against it for the peace of the home and society.

IMG_20220427_193451.jpg
In my personal opinion, polygamy is not bad. If as a man, you have all it takes to take care of yourself, your wives and your offsprings, then it is a go ahead for me. However I would accept that if you must even proceed to marry a second wife after the first, you should have a discussion with the first and amicably conclude on your decision.
Now not reaching a mutual agreement is the reason why a lot of negative things happen in polygamous homes. If the first wife is not happy, there won't be peace in the home.
But come to think of it, why do some men love to enlarge their coasts? Is one wife no longer enough? These days, some men say that they cannot marry another wife but can comfortably have side chicks.
I will not advice any man to marry more than one wife, but I will say that polygamy is by far better than adultery and fornication. But, these are my personal views like I said earlier.
I guess indeed, one man's food, is another man's poison.
What do you think about polygamy? Is it better than having an extra marital affair?

Thank you for reading
See you in my next

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now