I WAS CALLED A THIEF

I woke up this morning hearing a bang on my gate which was accompanied with the shout of thief, bring my Generator and TV. I was so confused because I stay in the compound alone and how can someone possibly call me a thief?

image.png
source
On opening the gate, I saw a woman crying and telling people around to tell me to give her back her Generator and TV. I was amazed at that sudden accusation because it's strange. I have never stolen anything in my life before neither has anyone had the guts to call me a thief.

I told her immediately that I didn't steal her Generator or her TV and asked her why she thinks I am the one that stole these items. She replied that I was the only one who came into her compound the previous day and jumped through the fence to my own compound. There and then, I knew I made a very big mistake.

Here is what happened. I came back from work yesterday early enough unlike me. I do come back from work around past 8pm every Saturday but I really don't know what happened yesterday. Getting to my gate, I found out I locked my key inside and there was no way of getting inside the compound since the other key is with my landlord's son who stays in PortHarcourt, a city not too close to where I stay.

My neighbours in the other compound facing mine suggested I should go hire a ladder and climb through the gate so I can get in but I thought that was going to take so long and I don't have such time since I wanted to use the rest room and I was so tired and hungry.

I decided to go through the other compound because the fence separating the compound isn't that tall. I have never entered that compound before and I really don't know anyone there, so I entered without speaking to anyone and went straight to their backyard where I jumped the fence to my compound and then opened my gate.

The woman accusing me of stealing these items saw me jumping the fence and this is what she is holding on to. I tried explaining to her that her seeing me jump the fence does not mean I was the one that stole her Generator and TV but she refused to listen to me. I pleaded with this woman to hear me out but she was so adamant that she ended up calling the the police.

I have never had any reason to be arrested by the police or have anything to do with them and I told myself that won't be happening now. I decided to call my dad who came with his landlord. They told the woman that I can never do such a thing but the woman she maintained her stand that I was the one who stole her Generator and TV.

image.png
source
When the police came with their handcuffs, they asked of the suspect and the woman told them that the only person she is suspecting is the person that jumped the fence yesterday but he isn't at home at that moment. I was surprised because I was right there with her. What could have changed her mind?

image.png
source
The policemen were not happy because they were thinking that she already apprehended the suspect and that's why she called. They told her to come to the station later to make statement and they left. My dad's landlord offered to go to the station with the woman so she won't change her mind while writing the statement and so they won't force her to write statement that will be implicating.

I stayed back after everyone left to appreciate the woman for not giving me up but she still didn't answer me and I guess that's because she was still angry that her things were stolen. I took permission from her and went back home to prepare for worship since I was the one leading the worship and I shouldn't be late for that.

I gave the testimony in church because had it been God didn't intervene, I would have been behind bars by now. I also asked the saints to pray for me that God should vindicate me from this accusation because it was really affecting me emotionally and mentally. Guess what? God has already vindicated me.He sure do answer prayers.

I went straight to the woman's house after I closed from worship and she told me she knows I am not the one that stole the Generator and TV and that's why she told the policemen that the person she is suspecting is not at home. She said she does not want a situation where an innocent person will be punished because of the material things she lost. That alone was enough for me.

I was so happy that there was nobody in the vicinity that doubted my innocent and everyone told her that. I am glad she saw reasons with them. It was today I got to know that they have been stealing in my street for the past 4 weeks and I didn't even know. They have stolen more than 5 Generators and a Motor bike. Guess I need to be more careful henceforth.

However, I am still mad at myself for taking silly actions. I was not meant to jump the fence and even if that was the only option I had, I should have taken permission from someone in the compound which I didn't. I have learnt my lesson the hard way. I thank God it wasn't more than this.

Thanks for visiting my blog.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now