Death Threats - The reason I left Fakebook

FF7B928A-B26C-43A3-8A00-1FCBE37C3A68.png
photo credit: @nioberojas

This is not a drill nor a joke but the real deal.

I have never spoke about this outside of my family until now. It was brought back up last weekend when a few of my new friends asked why I am not on Facebook Fakebook (this is the name I will refer to it by because that’s exactly what it is).

I was on there for about four years. I enjoyed the aspect of keeping up with old friends and even family I hadn’t seen in awhile. I shared my life through many posts; pregnancies, about my marriage, my job, my health journey and many more things.

The longer I stayed the more I realized that platform wasn’t really for someone like me. What I mean is I am a person who likes to be real and not fake the front just to get likes and followers. It was obvious that a lot I saw wasn’t real life as people claimed it to be.

If you are someone who is already bummed out about life or depressed about the way things are going, Fakebook will only make it worse for you. The thousands of posts that look shiny as if everyone’s life is all well and perfectly put together will make you feel like a complete failure.

I knew once I stared comparing my life to others (old school mates etc.) that I needed to slowly exit as it was becoming like a cancer to me. Comparing your life to others is not a good practice. You will never know their full story and what lies on the other side of that post.

Furthermore, I started seeing how people were looked down upon and even harassed by speaking up or stating a different opinion than the masses. If you beg to differ on a hot topic be prepared for all the backlash that comes with it.

279325C6-8DDE-4644-816D-8E22363419A4.jpeg
photo credit: @nioberojas

I felt like people were hypnotized zombies there because of the way they acted. I kept asking myself

Do they really feel that way or are they just afraid to say how they really feel?

Living in a time where social media status has become everything (to a lot of people not everyone thankfully) I shouldn’t have been surprised. People are willing to lose themselves for the sake of being liked which is so very sad to me.

Well, my last straw was when I received death threats for speaking out differently than anyone else. At this point I was so fed up and sick of all the fakeness, I couldn’t stand it any more.

There was a popular case being spoken of on how someone was murdered. I simply raised a question on someone’s post and challenged people to do more research and start thinking more in depth about situations before they draw their conclusions. I even stated instead of following the mass think for yourself and think about all aspects before jumping in on a side.

I finally stated an idea (I’d rather not go into details here but will just say crisis actors) for people to ponder and that statement is what caused all the drama.

Within minutes I had death threats in my inbox along with other vulgar comments that infuriated me. I couldn’t believe the messages I was getting just by stating what was obvious (at least to me). These messages were coming from people I didn’t know…

You better be glad I don’t know where you live or you’ll be dead in minutes.

You’re such a sick minded individual, it’s people like you that makes the world more crazy.

Get off of Fakebook you freak.

And there were many more.

My husband really helped me through that time and pointed out that these people really don’t know me and I shouldn’t give them the time of day or let them stress me out.

I learned a hard lesson that day and that was no matter how tempted you are, you can never be REAL on FAKEbook. I immediately deleted my account and haven’t looked back ever since.

DFD39951-EB5B-471F-A0E5-BDD821034F5C.jpeg
photo credit: @nioberojas

I knew it wasn’t for me from the get go but stayed mainly to just keep up with folks. I shouldn’t have got caught up in all the social and political stuff that was going on but after so long I got tired of being silent and wanted to speak up on some things. You can’t share truth with people who don’t want to see it.

Even if I wasn’t right about my theory/belief did I really deserve death threats?

People are drove to violence instead of talking things out. Back then we used to have disagreements and then move on. These days if you don’t go along with the majority you become a target.

Shortly after my departure from there I came here and made Hive my home for the last almost six years. It’s a place where I have been able to be myself and not pretend or fake it just to be liked. I’ve been muted and unfollowed along the way but as I stated before in a previous post it’s okay. I’d rather someone do those things if they don’t want to listen to me rather than get death threats and have them speak vulgar things in my comment section.

So that’s the reason I left Fakebook. What hurt me the most was my longtime friend blocked me after that because she didn’t want to be in between all the drama. Instead of reaching out to me to ask me to remove my comment from her shared post or whatever, she just blocked me and never spoke to me again (on social media and in real life). It’s pretty sad and pathetic if you ask me.

Thanks to @nioberojas for these awesome hand gesture stock images she provided for use. She has been added on as a beneficiary of this post!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now