Photo Organization Slowness

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to talk about how I need to spend more time organizing my photos, because it's taken longer when I don't!

IMG_3250.jpg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Photo Organization Slowness

I tend to take a lot of photos.. not that I'm any good at it or a professional photographer but I take a lot of them!

IMG_3246.jpg

The annoying thing in a way is that I know I need to periodically organize my photos. The issue is that I've been slacking on it! I certainly need to do it more than every few weeks LOL

The other day I was looking for something to write about, and then I remembered that I had a few weeks worth of photos on my phone, and a similar amount sitting on the SD card for my DSLR which I hadn't taken off and put onto my computer. I did spend the time to get the photos off my phone and onto my laptop, but it was annoying because I couldn't spend 2 minutes doing it lol. First world problems I guess?!

I tend to get in a spot where I take the photos off my phone every few days but I also have been getting into the habit of putting it off for various reasons. They are legitimate reasons like having to do some housework in the evening which prevents me from spending more time on my laptop and Hive but that's not the best excuse :D.

I get a little frazzled when I'm not as organized as I like to be, not that I'm a crazy type-a person but I do like to think that I've got a decent bit of organization in my life. I certainly try to do it with my work stuff!

IMG_3241.jpg

In some ways I do consider the stuff I do on Hive in a similar fashion. It's not work, it's definitely a hobby but I try to approach it in a way that I organize myself like I do for my work. This helps keep me ontop of things, organized and able to do a few things at once. When it comes to photos, I certainly try to employ this type of organization!

I've got folders for the different categories, as I'm sure many people do. I've got folders for black and white, beaches, trees, water, walks and many others. This helps me pick a topic that I want to write about and then go into the folders and grab a few photos to sprinkle them into it. I find this enjoyable for sure, but it's more enjoyable when I am able to add the recent photos of things into the mix instead of always relying on ones that are older.

The photos also help me with the topics. There are certain things that I want to write about on a day to day basis, but I also just enjoy taking a bunch of photos from one of our recent excursions and just post those and write about that experience. This blend has been a pretty good strategy for me, because I seemingly never run out of topics which has been really nice!

Looking back at the photos as well also helps me remember the event and it even gives me some good time to reflect on the things we did, what I enjoyed about it and what was memorable. I certainly hope that my son can do something like this when he gets older, seeing the things that we take pictures of and the things I write so it helps me in a number of different ways.

IMG_3250.jpg

What about you, do you try to extract your photos soon after you take them or do you take some time to do it like I have been lately? Let me know in the comments!

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

-CmplXty. Real human written content, never AI. All pictures are mine unless otherwise stated

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,900 PRE tokens, with a market value of $180.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center