Learning and adjusting

1000252572.jpg

This is going to be a quick update because I need to sleep. I have to wake up by 5am to be able to get to work on time, so sleeping as early as possible is very important.

Today, I was once again in the freezer but interestingly, I wasn't cold. The idea of going to work every morning is slowly starting to feel routine and I don't exactly have jitters about going to work anymore.

My coworkers are a mixed group of individuals with some British, Nigerian, Indian and Polish. In fact, they speak a lot of Polish language in the place and yeah, it sounds like a language that'll be fun to learn.

Working in a cold storage room with transparent tapoline over our body is reminiscent of some gangsta movies I've watched. Whenever I get bored of the monotony of the work, I fantasize about action movies where I'm an undercover operator in the warehouse or some shit.

Anyway, this is technically my second week of working there, so I'll be expecting my salary pretty soon. There's been a lot of chatter in the workplace about our incoming salaries.

I try not to get involved with stuff like that and just keep conversations as simple as possible. I've not worked in a place like this and moreso in a new country, so I don't want to be giving out too much information.

I also don't know the politics and I tend to be aloof about stuff like that but in Nigeria, I could get away with not being in the loop and talking out of my ass. Around here, with the stakes so high, I have to ensure that I make measured comments and watch what I say or even how I say what I say at times because some people aren't native English speakers. Something casual could be taken out of context and come back to bite you in the ass.

In any case, I like to think I'm in good standing with all my colleagues and I try to keep a positive attitude, even when I'm tired. This job is an opportunity for me and I intend to guard it with the utmost care as I continue to search for better opportunities.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now