Battling the Plastic Toy Invasion / プラスチックのおもちゃとのバトルは続く

As my family is away this weekend, I started tidying up home intensively. Then I have a bit of a rant, and I hope some of you can relate.

Living in Germany, a country known for its environmental consciousness, you’d think that the toy shops here would be filled with eco-friendly wooden toys, right? Well, I’ve found out the hard way that this isn’t always the case.

This morning I struggled with the tidying up of my daughter's plastic toy "Diamond Painting", my biggest enemy. Plastic parts resembling small diamonds are popped onto a pattern. The plastic diamonds were a tricky thing, and they were everywhere. The little plastic bags that used to contain the diamonds are scattered too 😱

My partner bought this in an attempt to cut down on my daughter's tablet time, but please please please get something a little more decent! I have my doubts about this monotone, seemingly mindless task. She can play with Origami, wood and wood knife and so on. I know I have to thank my partner for the idea...but when I see all this plastic falling all over the house, it makes me cry 😭

Also, there is another plastic toy I don't like. They are iron-on beads, which I also had when I was a kid. The pieces are bigger than the diamonds, and it's in a way better, but there are broken ones here and there, and my daughter has a hard time agreeing to get rid of them.

Recently I have seen iron beads made from sugar cane that claim to be organic, but I am skeptical.

Is it parental ego that makes you wish you could play with wood, paper, cloth, or something like that? I don't think tablets are so bad either. I myself grew up playing games a lot and became a programmer. And parents don't have to tidy up after kids play tablet ... just kidding 😉

My daughter still have some unfinished work on her desk, so it looks like the battle between me and the mini plastic is not over yet. But oh well, I guess it's good to play with hands and fingers at least.

When I'm tidying up, I also find these cute little things on the floor. It's a remnant from when she was making named french fries the other day. Creative 🍟

I can't say that plastic products should be completely eliminated. Also I buy and use them myself, but I would like to avoid it as much as possible, and I would like to see a little less plastic in my daughter's toys ...

How do you think? Anyways, have a nice weekend everyone!

~~~

子供がダイヤモンド・ペインティングやアイロン・ビーズといった環境先進国ドイツが卒倒しそうなおもちゃで遊んでいます。私は買い与えないようにしていたのですが、相方がタブレット時間を減らすために買ってきました。彼のアイディアにも感謝すべきですが、最後に片付けるのは私で、家中に小さなプラスチックが落ちていて爆発しそうです・・・・・。

noteでは「環境先進国ドイツで作る菜食料理」という軸で記事を書いていて、ドイツの話題だったので、日本語のメインはnoteに。もしよかったらnoteの記事読んでやってください。

https://note.com/akipponn/n/n774073c3fd57

暑いしプラスチック落ちてるし、爆発寸前の日々ですが、見て見ぬふりをしつつビールを飲みつつ元気に乗り切りましょう!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments