What It Is Like To Work Below Your Potential - Part#3

It's hard to imagine just how much the work world has changed in the last decade. In many cases, people who used to rely on traditional 9-to-5 jobs are now finding success by freelancing or starting their own business.

I used to say I am a freelancer

Often my in-laws and their family friends would ask what you do for a living. I used to proudly say that I am a freelancer. But I realised for them it wasn't a job. I was advised not to ruin my life, get a job. But they had no idea that I was spending more time with my family and working on my own hours.

wl1.jpg

Thinking of their daughter's future, my in-laws were very worried about my job.
I was trying my best but I didn't want to do anything below my potential. But, there were times when these questions compelled me. And I agreed to do any kind of work. Amjad for whom I created the desktop app. I requested him to let me know if there is any job vacancy.

I had no choice

Now, don't get me wrong - I have never underestimated any job. Although my father didn't allow us to work in our youth. But, I also sold poppadoms at the age of 17. Not out of any compulsion, I wanted to keep doing something since childhood.

Amjad called me and said that there is a job, but you will not be able to do it. I said I could do anything, because I didn't wanted to repeat what had happened at the dishwasher job. He gave me the contact number and told me to reach Slussen at 6 am the next morning. I asked what the work would be. Amjad did not tell me because he had known me for such a long time and even today he appreciates my skills and at that time he knew that this job was below my potential.

A real joke that I will remember for the rest of my life

My first son was 8 months old at that time. And my wife got a new job. I was planning where to leave my child. Because if I got this job, I would have to go to work every day. My wife consulted a colleague and someone gave the number of a babysitter.

Perronger på Slussen 2016

I left home at 5 to reach Slussen at 6 and my wife was leaving at 8 to wait for the babysitter. But one thing was certain, I had to get home from work at 4 in any case because the babysitter couldn't take care of my son for more than 8 hours.

Well, I reached the station on time, there I met the person whose number was given by Amjad. He was a Pakistani, he told me that we will be cleaning the Nacka gymnasium (college), the students are on vacation and within two weeks we have to clean the entire Nacka gymnasium (college).

Nacka gymnasium (2014) (15581609232) (cropped)

From there we took a buss to Nacka College - on the way I asked him to introduce me to the supervisor. He wanted to know the reason, so I told him that I had to leave at two o'clock. I cannot work after two o'clock. He told me to get down to the next station and go back home.

I did not like this person's attitude at all. Because, what was wrong if he introduced me to the supervisor? Then it was up to the supervisor to hire me or not.

We reached the college, in a small kitchen type room, he made tea and gave me a cup and said drink tea and go home. I thought that I will wait and will go after meeting the supervisor.

Meanwhile, my wife called. She was worried that the babysitter had not come yet. After listening to the conversation with my wife on the phone, this man asked me that you have hired a babysitter to take care of the baby. I nodded. So he said jokingly, then from tomorrow you will come to work in a car? I spontaneously said no, my wife goes to office in the car. The man said, "Brother, why do you have to do this job, you will give more than what you earn to the babysitter."
Now, what should I tell him that I was doing this job not for myself but to avoid people's questions.

He told me that he was the supervisor, and I was shocked and got afraid that I would not get the job. But maybe he took pity on me and gave me work clothes to wear and that day I started the work.

It was an extremely hard feeling to know I would have to clean toilets and scrub the floor for a living, I had no problem with the work. The problem I had was that I started this work unwillingly without trying in my field.

I knew I am capable of so much more, but for whatever reason, I was in a place that doesn't quite fit my skill set. Whatever the case may be, working below my potential was frustrating, discouraging, and downright disheartening for me.

It was really tough for me to work there. I was feeling like I am not good enough or that I am failing. This led me to a feeling of inadequacy and was affecting my mental health.

Whenever I doubt myself or feel like I can't do something, my wife @nazneen-ansari is always there to remind me of my strength and encourage me to keep going.
She said, because everyone's situation is different. What works for one person may not work for another. And what seems like a good idea in theory may not actually be so great in practice.

Only you can know what is best for you and your career. So, instead of listening to others, trust your own instincts and experiences. If a particular job or situation doesn't feel right, then it probably isn't.

But, still I continued this two week job as it is not my habit to leave anything in between.

Fast Forword 10 years into my life

Being president of PICS, I was giving a speech in a grand annual event in the heart of Stockholm, Kungsträgården. The event was a huge success and many people came to congratulate me. One face I was trying to recall.

wl2.jpg

After a few months I had a meeting with the president of the Swedish Confederation of Immigrants, where few prominent community members were present.

wl.jpg

I saw the same face and was trying to recall, then this guy came to me and said I know one person who looks like you. Then I realised he is the same supervisor.


Disclaimer
As I mentioned in my intro, from the last 2 decades I have been active on social media, google mapping and reviews, youtube and thatsup. I will share my own past interesting content from these channels, but all my upcoming content I will share on hive.blog first.


Follow me on
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Tiktok

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now