Changes All Around

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to talk about how things are always changing in the professional landscape.

IMG_7401.JPG

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Changes All Around

"For things to stay the same, everything must change" Don Fabrizio Corbera, The Leopard

Change is definitely one of the constants in life - everything changes. Sadly, that also means that the workplace is constantly changing as well.

IMG_6494.JPG

There are always times where you feel like you've had the best run and team in a long time. I've been incredibly lucky in that I've had that a few times. Early in my career I worked with an incredibly close, tight knit group of people who worked really well together. I came in late to the game and kind-of fit in with the group, but I was still an outsider. They made me feel welcome though, and we all were really close which was great. As time went on though, people left, moved on and all that. It's unfortunate to see it happen.

Recently, my job now there have been a number of changes, and some of them sad. I wasn't super close with one of my senior leaders, but I did get to know him and met him personally. It was good to be able to sit down and chat with people at that level, as they have a lot of wisdom and things to teach me. I don't mind spending time like that because it benefits me in the long run, even having a solid acquaintance in those terms. I think I have that with him.

Sadly we found out that there were structural changes, and his job was no longer there. That was tough, because I liked and respected him. He fought the good fight, got into the trenches with us a lot and really commanded a good working relationship with the people who reported to him in one form or another. There are probably more things involved there than meets the eye, but I don't really care to know those details. I'm not one for gossip on stupid shit like that.

IMG_2290.jpg

I then found out just today that I'm writing this that one of the managers I work with is also leaving, voluntarily. I was really saddened to hear that because she was an excellent manager. She was organized, compassionate and really stuck her neck out there for her team and did a great job running her stuff. Ultimately though, things got to her and she got sick of the BS. I haven't spoken to her directly yet about it, as this is new news but I'm definitely going to make it a point to do so before she leaves in the next few weeks.

I think as sad as it is to see these changes, the important thing is that we experience the good times. When you are able to experience and benefit the good times, then it definitely helps you weather the storm if the bad times come rolling around. I certainly hope there are no bad times ahead, but you never know what tomorrow will bring.

I don't know what will end up happening with these structural changes, and I don't know if I would or should want to add my hat into the ring of candidates for a management job, but sometimes we feel that things happen for a reason and they will do what they will. I am not trying to get ahead of myself in terms of choices, but the important thing is to keep our options open, just like my colleagues years ago did even though we had an excellent team, you have to do what's best for you.

IMG_7401.JPG

What about you, do you have things going on in your work life such as numerous changes? How are you dealing with them? Let me know in the comments!

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

-CmplXty. Real human written content, never AI. All pictures are mine unless otherwise stated

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,900 PRE tokens, with a market value of $180.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now