My Thoughts On Celebrating Afri-tunes & What The Community Has Lined Up.

png_20230223_192624_0000.png



I'm not a good singer, but I love good music. Some of the people I've spoken to offline thinks I should be able to sing, especially if I can be able to put in the work or go through the right training. Irrespective of that, I have favorite singers here on hive and I don't shy away from telling them how much I love their vocals and performances, I do this by leaving my thoughts on their posts and supporting them to sweeten the pot. Although I usually can't help but pinpoint areas where they can do better, even if I wouldn't really do better than them in the first place if I tried, imagine the irony. But what do I know, I think people who are music critics don't always make good singers.

Afri-tunes is a music concept that was started one year ago by @ksam. The theme revolved around African music, and I thought the concept was good. I liked the feel of it and when he approached me for some support, I was very happy to give it, I take my time to also check out some of the entries and curate them personally apart from the vote trail that I followed. I was pleased when he (@ksam) messaged me to tell me that afri-tunes is a year old and he's planning to do something revolutionary. Apparently, we talked about how he wanted to initiate some of his wonderful plans and I thought, "why not?" Any way to promote hive.

I still offered some of the support I could garner and I was pleased to see that he got some outstanding support. He's a wonderful young man who is trying to create a platform for young African-based singers. I think niching is an important aspect of hive, it's important for people to belong, and find solace or a community where they feel accepted as it's great and important for retention and the community has survived through and actually functioned despite minimal incentive which has been awesome, I think it has managed to do this by providing a content platform and an opportunity as well. One very important aspect of retention is having a niche community, where there are already-made creators that would synch with the aim and content scope of such a community.

So even without an elaborate curation scheme, it (Afri-tunes) has minimally done well, and the creators and curators have remained consistent and committed and that's one of the best things about afri-tunes. I might probably not be a good singer, but I engage, curate, and play some abstract roles. This is another way to be part of a community, even if the most recognizable way to be a community member is through content creation. Going Forward, I think the community will keep doing well. I know so many communities that were created but couldn't survive. It's normal to think that it's because there's no stream of support or a designated support source, but this isn't entirely true.


IMG-20230223-WA0005.jpg


With afri-tunes, I enjoy consuming video content and there are passionate creators who continue irrespective of anything. I've seen people better their craft too and gained exposure. I know @ksam is a creative and innovative man and I'll always be there to answer and support him whenever he's got some innovative scheme up his sleeves. Kudos to the likes of @eccency, it's interesting to see how I've utilized the points I've gathered over the years to support some of the contents on afri-tunes. Hopefully, too some of the creators within the community can grow their stakes and collectively create a support system to keep the community thriving.

Away from the boring stuff, I'm delighted to be getting one copy of the customized shirts, it's been a long time since I wore anything customized with my initials. The last time was in 2014 when my then-girlfriend gave me a customized shirt for valentine's. I was talking to someone some days ago and she was also telling me that she was also a recipient of the customized shirt and I told her that whenever she comes around, we'll probably both rock the customized shirts.


IMG-20230223-WA0003.jpg


I tested the scan codes of the phone versions he sent me and surprisingly, it leads to the signup page on eccency, it was cool and I was thrilled. So I'll set up 30% beneficiary to afri-tunes, to help with the funding of the one-year celebration project, and hopefully more in the future as well. All I can say is congratulations to @ksam the founder and everyone who has been part of the community for this past year.




Interested in some more of my works?


Reviewing A $400 Samsung Galaxy A72 (photos Included)
Hive's Scalability & The Compromise Of Commitments
Money: The Consequences Of Making The Right & Wrong Decisions
The Nigerian Economy: Monopolizing Incompetence
The Experiential Process of Understanding Money
A Case Of Theft On Hive: Here's Why Some People Choose Scam.

png_20230102_074302_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
33 Comments
Ecency