AFRITUNES WEEK 101: Cover of American Love By Qing Madi


Hello my amazing Afritunes familyšŸ¤— Itā€™s been one hell of a break, I need not a reminder. Regardless, Iā€™m so glad that Iā€™ve finally found the time and courage to show up. Let me begin by screaming a very Happy Valentineā€™s Day to yā€™all.

9D9D9E3C-B8D2-48E1-BCA7-3AE4B9DFF0CF.jpeg

On todayā€™s presentation, I picked out American Love by Qing Madi as itā€™s just the perfect song for the season. This choice wasnā€™t just influenced by Valentine so Iā€™ll share a quick story.

Last week Friday (9th Feb.) was the birthday of a friend Iā€™d admit Iā€™ve developed feelings for. Prior to that day, I had planned in my head to gift him sth because I found him deserving but I had no idea what to gift him. I didnā€™t want to do something basic but at the same time nothing too extra.
On Thursday, I had paid for his gift items and it was to an Instagram vendor, I donā€™t know this vendor in person, and unfortunately he said he didnā€™t get an alert. I was stuck between sending another payment and waiting for a refund of the previous one. Unwilling to take chances, I paid a second time because I wanted this surprise to happen on his birthday.

I wrote a heartfelt note too. For the first time, I allowed myself to really speak from my heart and I was more glad that he loved it.
It was on this day that I heard Qing Madiā€™s American Love and it was just perfect for the moment. The lines that busted my brain was:

ā€œAnd Iā€™mma give you some hmm Nigerian love,
Carry you go Jalingo
Anywhere you want to go, anywhere you want to go

Bet you never met a girl you go wife up o,
And Iā€™mma hold you downā€

Before this birthday, in one of our conversations he had mentioned not receiving gifts in recent times and I told him I was about to change the story but I could tell he didnā€™t take me seriously.
He really appreciated the gift and he was so happy, this was just enough for me.

With this presentation, Iā€™m imploring on ladies to love their men a little extra. Today is Valentine, a lot of ladies will sit and cross their legs expecting the men to break the bank for them. Thatā€™s okay but how about you give out the same energy you expect especially to men. How about you promise to love that man through thick and thin? Letā€™s spread the love around.

Happy Valentineā€™s Day!

QING MADI - AMERICAN LOVE [Lyrics]

Travelled round the world, I no cast
But if I climb the train, e don pass you
Traveled round the world, now I found you
And if I catch the plane, e don catch
AndāŸIāŸhopeāŸyou gonā€™ flyāŸaway today, aje
Yeah,āŸI hope you gonā€™ fly away today, aje
Mmm, but you know say I fly
So no dey reject me, oh Iā€™m calling
I dey try, but you no dey get me ti ba n kį»rin
You go like fly
Allow me to spoil you with my money
You don cover my, cover my head oh
Bet you never met a girl you go wife up oh
And Iā€™mma hold you down oh
Bet you never met a girl you go wife up oh
And Iā€™mma hold you down oh
Hold you down with no excuse
Nobody fit damn you
BŠµt you never met a girl you go wifŠµ up oh
And Iā€™mma hold you down oh, down oh

Full Lyrics


ā–¶ļø 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center