I'm blown away by NASA's HiRISE images of the surface of Mars.

So I have absolutely fallen in love with the images in NASA's HiRISE photos gallery of the surface of Mars.

HiRISE (High Resolution Imaging Science Experiment) is the most powerful camera ever sent to another planet, and one of 6 instruments onboard the Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter (MRO).

image.png

Photos are assembled from high-bit images that are taken in vertical strips, and can weigh in at up to about 1.5 gigapixels once finalized.

image.png

There are over 85,000 images in HiRISE's gallery, and although not all of them are winners, the ones that are are absolutely stunning, like works of art.

image.png

Frankly, I don't know how we aren't seeing more of these, and since they're so high-resolution I think I'll be decorating my office walls with some top-quality framed prints.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center