Iron birds - memoirs of an Aero show - my own clicks

"There is an art, or rather a knack, to flying. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss."— Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy


blog title.png

Oh boy - do these aerial combat pilots have that knack or what! I want to share some pics I took with my Nikon P900 during an airshow

There is something thrilling about formation flying that puts us on the edge of our seats. In this case, I was actually perched on a building, trying to get a better shot than from ground.

This one with an inverted dive, performed by these 4 daredevil pilots had me holding my breath.


DSCN6006-1024x768 (FILEminimizer).jpg

They were flying within feet of each other - sometimes their wingtips were so close together that I was afraid any moment they will crash into each other. What control!

Their feats were great but those trainer planes could not hold a candle to what a modern fighter jet plan can do. Just look at this one as it whooshed straight up in a vertical climb...


DSCN5938-1024x768 (FILEminimizer).jpg

Single engine prop planes participated too and demonstrated some thrilling stunts. Particularly, this one, where they flew straight at each other and veered away at the very last instant, missing each other by a few feet was nail biting excitement...


DSCN6019-1024x768 (FILEminimizer).jpg

We cannot ignore the human element either. Remember the movie 'Top Gun' where Tom Cruise plays the fighter pilot? These two pilots reminded me of that movie


DSCN5982-1024x768 (FILEminimizer).jpg

Shows the style, character and confidence of fighter pilots don't you think?

The ultimate challenge though, for courage, is jumping out of a plane at 10000 feet, trusting the parachute to open! Here is a pic I took as a trooper parachuted to ground from a plane flying at 10000 feet...


DSCN5919-1024x768 (FILEminimizer).jpg

I was thrilled to capture these pictures with a mere bridge camera like Nikon P900. Considering that the airplanes were moving at such a fast speed and were quite a distance away, I think I did a fair job of getting these clicks. What do you think? Please comment freely and let me know...

Please feel free to let me know if I can do anything to make my shots or posts better. Looking forward to guidance from all experts and members of this great #photographylovers community.

Have a nice day everyone. Cheers!


sig -wild spirit- removebg-preview.png

2bottom header image vm2904 (FILEminimizer).png
the alliance logo.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center