Introducing myself to this awesome community

Hey everyone! I'm Tristan Todd, a 30 year old landscape photographer from Vancouver, British Columbia. Over a month ago my friend @caseygrimley introduced Hive to me, but I was feeling a bit overwhelmed by other social media so I decided to wait a bit before fully jumping in... and now is the time! I would also like to thank @lovesniper for the handy advice on my test post a month ago. Consider this my official introduction :)

I've been shooting landscapes for a decade, and am particularly obsessed with my local rainforests, canyons and mountains. This was originally just a hobby using my phone camera, something to cure my boredom and help with my mental health. But it eventually grew into much more than that, completely transforming my life for the better. In September 2020 I quit my job to pursue my passion for landscape photography full time. These days some of my most important goals in photography are exploring the unknown, finding my solitude, teaching others and community building. I am excited to be a part of the community here on Hive and getting to know everyone!

I took this self-portrait taken over the summer, during a 7 day camping trip with some good friends where we explored some of the area near Mount Waddington. Although not pictured here, it is the tallest mountain located entirely within British Columbia! To get the perspective and framing that I wanted, I had to place my camera about 100 meters away, put it into interval timer mode and then run back to my composition, hoping I lined myself up properly. I used a distinct looking rock as a reference point and it worked!

This is a single exposure, taken at 120mm, f/10, 1/325s, ISO 125. If anyone has any questions, feel free to ask! :)

DSC_7615 copy final.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center