Búðakirkja, Black Church in Iceland

Búðakirkja, is a small black church in western Iceland. It's located near the shore and the mountains which makes it look like it comes straight out of a Lord of the Rings movie or Games of Thrones. It would do great for some wedding photography I think.

I visited this place two days in a row. The first day, I arrived near sunset as a huge blizzard just set in. You can see the dark clouds on the first picture and the short movie when the snow started.

The second photo I shot the second day, also near sunset. This time the conditions were completely different. A bit more snow, and a clear blue sky. As the sun set right in the image, you'll see the earths shadow coming up in the left as a small dark band on the horizon.

Both photographs became among my favorite photographs from Iceland. They represent the landscape, the solitude and nature for me. I hope you like them too.

Cheers,
Thijs

img_3781_edit_edit_2.jpg

img_4221_edit_edit_2.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center