RECONNECTION; Photographs of Aijae

Aijae (a nickname) is a music artist and also a friend. I've known her for some years back in Oyigbo (a local government in Rivers State). She was in her church music department as a chorister and that was where we met. She has a sonorous voice with which she runs various riffs and even pitches while singing. Listening to Ijeoma sing during rehearsals and on church service days leaves me wondering how one person could have this level of skill; she's really that talented.

Knowing that talent is not enough, Aijae honed her skills through steady rehearsals and musical training; she rarely misses a rehearsal day. A few years after I met her, she got connected to a top music artist in the state where we both stay and became one of his backup singers. This news brought great joy to me because I knew how hard she trains and she really deserves this win.

Just last month while shooting at an event, I met Aijae. This was after a long while because I was no longer a resident of that locality and she also moved out because of her new engagement. We were happy to reconnect and I was glad to hear her amazing voice again. She was still the happy Aijae I knew.

I made sure to create some photographs of her while she was singing. Have you ever reconnected with a longtime friend? How did you feel?

NE-5
NE-2
NE-1
NE-6
NE-7
NE-8
NE-9
NE-11
NE-14
NE-13

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now