Saturday - Rural Cemetery

Rural Cemetery

Good Morning and I hope all is well with you

Today I am sharing some photos in the rural cemetery here in new Bedford, it was an unplanned short walk, I had been to another spot to catch the sunrise, and left there early as I had to pick up my grand daughter than morning and drop her off at school as her parents were busy, I miscalculated how long it would take to get to their place and ended up being about half an hour early, so I decided to fill in the time with a quick visit to the cemetery.
Now I know some find Cemeteries a bit eerie and scary, but thats not the case for me, maybe inthe dark a little but as the sun had risen it wasnt to dark when I went there and personally I find cemeteries cool to explore especially older ones, looking at the names and dates on headstones and imagining how their life was back then.

It is actually joined with another cemetery called Friends cemetery together they are a pair of connected cemeteries at 149 Dartmouth Street in New Bedford, Massachusetts. They occupy an irregular parcel of land more than 90acre in size on the west side of the city. Established in 1837, the Rural Cemetery was the fifth rural cemetery in the nation, after Mount Auburn Cemetery (Cambridge, Massachusetts), Mount Hope Cemetery (Bangor, Maine), Mount Pleasant Cemetery (Taunton, Massachusetts), and Laurel Hill Cemetery (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)

And also when they have cool buildings such as this one I walked by


rural cemetery.jpg

Sony A7iv 19mm F11 1/6 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


I am not sure what the purpos eof the building is whether a small chapel or some form of crypt but i love the style of it so a shot of it from another angle

rural cemetery-2.jpg

Sony A7iv 22mm F11 1/5 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


As you can see there was still some color sof the sunrise as I was there I couldn't resist a shot of this big tree


rural cemetery-3.jpg

Sony A7iv 19mm F11 1/20 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


I enjoyed my short walk there only explored a small part of it and when I was leaving i said i musyt come back and explore more of it, but havent got back there yet


rural cemetery-4.jpg

Sony A7iv 128m F9 1/60 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


It is pretty well maintained and in good shape


rural cemetery-5.jpg

Sony A7iv 17mm F9 1/50 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments