Palmers Island Lighthouse

Palmers Island Lighthouse

I recently took a walk out by Palmers Island, for a few reasons, one to get some fresh air and steps in, 2 to make sure I had some photos for a Wednesday walk post, after all it is slack if me as the host of it dont get some recent photos for a post, thirdly, to check out the Osprey nests by the Barrier wall and on the Island itself to see if the Osprey had returned.

As it happened I didn't get around the island to see the Osprey nest there and no signs of them back yet inthe other best but I am sure they will be soon.

But I did achieve the other goals, and at the same time got a few shots of the Palmers Island Lighthouse from various angles which I am sharing in todays post


palmers island light.jpg

Sony A7iv 119mm F9 1/250 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


It was built and first lighted on August 30, 1849, by William Sherman who was the keeper. The 24-foot tower was built of rubblestone, with wooden windows and floors.

As with many lighthouses in that era the lamps were fueled by New Bedford whale oil
Over the years the lighthouse suffered from vandalism, but was eventually bought by the City of New Bedford and they restored it including relighting it in 1999

For this next shot i zoomed in a bit closer to show more of the detail of the lighthouse, at 24 feet high its not the most impressive of lighthouses i guess but I feel it has quite a charm to it


palmers island light-2.jpg

Sony A7iv 378mm F9 1/400 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


now zoomed out with a ship coming by it


palmers island light-3.jpg

Sony A7iv 129mm F10 1/250 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



and another shot from the same spot a few seconds later that I thought would work in Mono


palmers island light-4.jpg

Sony A7iv 154mm F10 1/250 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


Zoomed in again and also again in MOno, not sure that that is hanging off the side of it


palmers island light-5.jpg

Sony A7iv 264mm F10 1/250 Sec ISO 160
Click here to view larger


NOw one thing they say not to do when taking photos of people is make make sure something in the background is not distracting or sticking out of the top of the head or should I say appearing that way, and that is something i though of with this Telecom tower amd choose my angles mostly not to do that, but at one point I saw it almost lined up and decided to line it up for something different


palmers island light-6.jpg

Sony A7iv 264mm F10 1/250 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.619467 lat -70.913685 long Cove Walk New Bedford MA d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center