Mono Monday

Mono Monday

Another week has rolled by and its Monday morning, and for me that means a Mono Monday post, with a set of varied shots I thought worked well in mono, well all but one Mono one has a touch of color.
Starting with this image looking down a ramp to one of the piers at the port, you may notice rain drops on the railings, I was lucky that morning the rain eased off just as I headed out and I was able to get a walk in.


mono-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 33mm F8 1/3 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Think about Mondays, many used to talk about the Monday Blues.
The 'Monday Blues' describe a set of negative emotions that many people get at the beginning of the workweek if they're not happy at work.

I am not sure I totally agree with that description as I know of people who used to struggle to get going to work on a Monday even if they generally did enjoy their work.

Do you suffer from the Monday blues?

I think I can honestly say for the most part I never suffered from the Monday Blues, I was generally very happy in my work and used to be ready to get to work on Mondays no problem at all.
Why do I say for the most part, well for two reasons, for many years I worked in the field and seven days a week, so Monday was no different than any other day, and secondly, when I was winding down ready for retirement, my workload slowly dropped off and I was counting the days till retirement day and perhaps wasn't so motivated to end the weekend and start a working week.

But one thing I used to always do when I was working and what I noticed many didn't do was the following.

Many on Fridays are winding down for the weekend, and put off any tedious or annoying/frustrating tasks on a Friday and leave them for Monday, which of course made the thought of doing them on a Monday morning bring on the blues to some degree or other.

I remember discussing this with a colleague a few months before I retired, and as we chatted with it and asked why I do those tasks on a Friday even if it meant staying a bit late, I explained it as my way of preparing for Monday on a Friday.

So if you generally enjoy your job but suffer from the Monday Blues, consider doing just that prepare for Monday on a Friday, not only doing frustrating tasks on a Friday, but if you have to put of something to Monday make it a task you enjoy.

Not sure how that first photo or the next photo triggered these thoughts, they weren't in my mind when I started preparing this post, But I guess I could post this as a Thoughtful Daily Post hosted by @wesphilbin


mono-1.jpg

Sony A7iii 96mm F13 1.sSec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Well I guess this last and next photos could be two viewpoints people may feel when gettign ready for work on a Monday


mono-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/5 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And I mentioned earlier a touch of color in one photo here it is, the flags at Fort Tabor


mono-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 38mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


the Mist over the water gave this photo a nice moody feel to me


mono-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 150mm F8 1/80 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And finishing off with a recent shot looking over the icy pond in Buttonwood Park


mono-6.jpg

Sony A7iv 28mm F11 1/6 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.635944 lat -70.920507 long Pier New Bedford MA d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center