Mono in the museum

Mono in the museum

I am going to keep with my Monday habit of sharing monotone images, this week from a visit
to the Rotch Jones Duff house Museum here in New Bedford, I have done a couple of posts last year for Market Friday posts of some of the displays in the museum, but I had a few images I never edited or including in this post and I thought they would work well for a mono post

Starting with a shot in the lower level as you enter the house and start walking around and exploring the Museum


mono in the museum.jpg

Sony A7iv 20mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger


A little bit about the property

The William Rotch Jr. House, now the Rotch–Jones–Duff House and Garden Museum, is a National Historic Landmark at 396 County Street in New Bedford, Massachusetts, in the United States. The three families whose names are attached to it were all closely tied to the city's nineteenth-century dominance of the whaling industry. Because of this, the house is part of the New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park.
Richard Upjohn built the house in the Greek Revival architectural style for William Rotch Jr. in 1834, on a New Bedford plot Rotch had inherited from his father. It was Upjohn's first house, near the beginning of a long career. Rotch also commissioned a garden in the rear, which later owners would significantly expand. The property remained private until 1981, when it was bought by local preservationists and reopened as a historic house museum. It was declared a National Historic Landmark and added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2005. Today the museum educates visitors not only about whaling but, through its gardens and associated programs for local schools, about the environment as well.

Now I have shared this info in a previous post so I guess I should quote myself as a source so here is the source

there wasn't a lot of light in the museum so all of these shots are with fairly high ISO mostly around 8000 pretty happy how they came out without too much noise
A couple of ladies hats, and the old style hat pins, they always look quite dangerous to me


mono in the museum-2.jpg

Sony A7iv 25mm F8 1/50 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger


This doll with its age and wear and tear, felt a little creepy to me, and those eyes I felt they were staring at me the whole time I was in the room it was displayed


mono in the museum-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/80 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger


I had a great Aunt when I was growing up who had one of these foot action sewing machines, hers was a Singer if I remember correctly, but my Aunty sitting and pumping her legs and sewing is the memory that came to mind when I saw this


mono in the museum-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 22mm F5.6 1/250 Sec ISO 5000
Click here to view larger


an old style pair of scissors


mono in the museum-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F4.5 1/200 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger


And a Quill pen, I don't think I have ever used one myself, but I do remember a friend who was into Calligraphy and had a few of them, and said they were still very much in use by Calligraphers
My written is like chicken scratching in the sand with a pen or pencil I dread what it would belike if I used a quill.
that said when I was in High School at one stage I broke all the fingers on my right hand, and hence had to write left handed and after a few days my writing with my left was better than my right handed writing ever was, and the teacher wanted me to stay writing with my left hand, but once my right hand was healed I went back to it, and you may wonder why

I think it goes back to when I was in primary school, naturally being ambidextrous I would do some things right handed and some left handed, and I still remember an old Nun wrapping my knuckles with a wooden ruler saying writing left handed was a sign of the Devil.
Now I don't believe that at all, but I guess the being wrapped over the knuckles a few times at that age, imbedded the habit in my mind to write with my right hand.


mono in the museum-6.jpg

Sony A7iii 27mm F4.5 1/250 Sec ISO 8000
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.631022 lat -70.928994 long Rotch Jones Duff house New Bedford MA d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center