Mattapoisett Town Wharf

Mattapoisett Town Wharf

For todays post I am sharing some shots I took on a visit to Mattapoisett recently as the sun was rising
Mattapoisett is a nearby city a short drive from where I live and I have bene there a couple of times to the Ned's Point Lighthouse, but for this post I am at the town Wharf


Mattapoiset boat marina.jpg

Sony A7iii 17mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 500
Click here to view larger


These shots were from a visit a month or so ago, by now I suspect most of the boats will be out of the water.
The Mattapoisett Town Wharf has five publicly accessible wharves: Mello Wharf, Middle (Makuch) Wharf, Long (Brownell) Wharf, Holmes Wharf, and Barstow Wharf (next to Mattapoisett Town Beach).
The history of this wharf goes back to the height of the Whaling boom in New Bedford these granite structures were built in the 1800s, back them Mattapoisett was the center of a busy and thriving shipbuilding industry.

There was a nice sunrise that morning not spectacular but a nice warm glow on the horizon


Mattapoiset boat marina-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 26mm F8 1/5 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


I went down the ramp onto this platform I planned to get a couple of shots but at the time there wasn't much light and with the movement of the water long exposure shots would have bene blurry


Mattapoiset boat marina-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 17mm F8 1/5 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Back when I visited there, lots of boats were still in the water and tied up at the docks, some clouds came through and gave some nice subtle colors and reflections


Mattapoiset boat marina-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 17mm F8 1/6 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Ther eis a little park beside the docks which I walked around, but focusing on the water and the docks for this post so a shot from the little park looking back tot he wharves.


Mattapoiset boat marina-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 17mm F8 1/10 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.657326 lat -70.812830 long Mattapoisett Town Wharf MA d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center