colors starting to change in Buttonwood Park

colors starting to change in Buttonwood Park

Well temps are slowly dropping here and signs of fall becoming more apparent, the other day a friend onFacebook whois also the lead of a group called Friends of Buttonwood Park, which is a group that has meetups to do work to help maintain the park mentioned to me in the Arbotereum in the park the colors were coming, so that prompted me for one of my rare during the day walks to chekc out the park.

now this is a quick selection of a few of the shots I took on that walk that I will share today,
I have bene out most mornings for walks this past week and for the first time in a while I can say I am well behind in editing the photos from recent walks, but with the colors changing so quickly I wanted to share today how the colors are now, and I hope to get out at least once a week back to the park and other parks in the area to ctach some series of shots as the colors change.


buttonwood park-5.jpg

Sony A7iv 28mm F9 1/125 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


a little about th epark
Located on 97 acres in New Bedford’s West End, Buttonwood Park is the largest and most visited public park in the city. The park is an oasis of nature right here in New Bedford, with gardens, a pond, an arboretum, walking paths, a playground, a zoo, and several ball fields and basketball courts.

Buttonwood Park is not just a treasure for its recreational opportunities — it’s also a historical treasure. In 1895, Charles Eliot of the famed architectural firm Olmsted, Olmsted & Eliot developed the original master plan for the park. In 1988, a new Olmsted-inspired master plan was adopted, serving as a blueprint for The Friends of Buttonwood Park to improve the park.

In 2000, Buttonwood Park and parts of the surrounding neighborhood were listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Today, Buttonwood Park offers the community a place to escape from the stresses of city life and enjoy nature.


buttonwood park-4.jpg

Sony A7iv 38mm F9 1/125 Sec ISO 250
Click here to view larger


now I used the #aap tag so I should say something about that its an iniative started by @friendlymoose who is trying to establish and support more interactions betwene photographers here on Hive which I think is a great idea, a Discord Groupd has even been created for the group so if interested check it out here https://discord.gg/GgFyXkJn

and the idea behind the AAP tag is to ask a photographer, perhaps you would like the idea of having some fellow Photographers give you feedback on your photography then use the AAP tag and some will check it out if this takes off


buttonwood park-3.jpg

Sony A7iv 28mm F11 1/125 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


as you can see the colors are still in the early stages in the park, but was a cool walk and I look forward to heading back there again soon


buttonwood park-2.jpg

Sony A7iv 35mm F11 1/125 Sec ISO 160
Click here to view larger


perhaps thes ephotos do not do the park justice but for me it reminded me why many call Buttonwood Park the Jewel of New Bedford


buttonwood park.jpg

Sony A7iv 35mm F11 1/125 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center