This content was muted by Photography Lovers moderators for not following community guidelines.

I fell in love with the beautiful colours of the Leica M10.

I blog with Leica related content, I am often asked if I should upgrade from the Leica M10 to the M11. As any of my subscribers will know, I'm an avid gearhead. However, fortunately (?) this did not apply to the Leica M10. There is a saying that newer digital devices are good. It's not a completely different word. However, these days, that formula is slowly falling apart. Is it necessary to upgrade well the device I'm still using just because the pixel quality has improved and the functions I don't often use have improved?

image.png
Euljiro's alley seen with Leica M10 (Hipjiro)

image.png
Euljiro's alley seen with Leica M10 (Hipjiro)

The Leica M10 is still impressive. I have been using it for 8 years, but I never felt that any function was disappointing for a moment. After using it almost every day for 8 years, I rarely use it after hiring Hassel these days, but a body I use every day can't function well without breakdowns like this.

The appearance is still intact. Perhaps because it is a brass body, the periphery of the silver body looks darker silver. Other than that, there is no change in appearance. (Rather, I really like the part where the colour changes due to the brass material)!

The colour of the Leica M10 is very nice. In particular, the primary colour expression is very beautiful. In the case of the M11, DR (dynamic range) is said to have improved. However, even the M10 DR is a monster. When viewed with the naked eye, even if the original photo is shot dark enough to be black, it can be restored as well as shown above. No, rather it has to be photographed dark so that all the colours are expressed correctly.

image.png
Let's look at skin tone.

image.png
Let's look at skin tone.

In the case of a digital camera, it is greatly affected by the surrounding colour. Especially skin tones. If you get a neon sign in a hip hop alley, your skin tone turns yellow (?) or purple. However, the Leica M10 really likes the expression of skin tones. Of course, raw photos are affected by ambient lighting to some extent. However, if you correct the colour with post-correction, it eats quite well.

image.png

image.png

image.png

The expression of skin tone is not the only good thing. When you capture nature, you also calmly capture the natural colours. And if you want to emphasise primary colours like green with posing, you can make as many corrections as the photographer wishes.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

The Leica M10 is a body optimised for street photography. Once you get used to it, you can use it as if it were part of your body. In some cases it becomes my eyes, and in other cases it acts as if it were part of my hand. You can move instinctively. At night, if you set the ISO and use it in full manual mode, it's fast. During the day, if you set it to A mode, set the exposure dial to -1 or -1/3 and focus quickly, you can capture the scene you want as intended.

image.png

image.png

Even in backlighting, the Leica M10 shines. Accurate focusing can be achieved even when looking in a blindingly bright direction. Ordinary Leica lenses have excellent optical suppression capabilities, so flare and ghosting don't occur easily. However, if you use the equipment for a long time, you instinctively know under what circumstances it can create such an effect.

image.png

image.png

The light when the sun goes down and how beautiful the sky is. Not only this, but it also creates beautiful shadows, as I expected.

image.png

Above all, the greatest advantage of the Leica M10 is the wonderful relationships I got to know through the camera.

image.png

There are people I met through Leica M users' evening meetings, and there are people I contacted and met as my fans. There are fans who came from abroad and there are fans who came from the provinces and met in Seoul. There are also people who have visited an unfamiliar place, recognized and greeted me, and maintained a friendly relationship. It's an experience I've never had with any other camera!

The Leica M10 means a lot to me. It is also my first Leica, and thanks to it, my life has changed to the extent that before and after I got to know Leica. Also, thanks to the Leica M10, I started doing commercial photography.

The guy who has been by my side relentlessly for the last 8 years.

Now that I use it alternately with Hassel x2d, I can rest a bit. Best wishes for the future!

Do you want to grow old with me?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center