Why you should read TEN STEP TO BECOMING A SUCCESSFUL PHOTOGRAPHER BY Joel Grimes

20210314_175850_0000.png

text15.png

It is actually a very important thing to make friends of like minds, similar goals and all. I made this photography friend a long time ago @ubongj. He randomly just thought about me and suggested I read this book. I've had it in my library for quite a while now, and I have just skipped it. A few days ago, I finally opened up the book and I sure am glad I did. I think I told you guys lately that I have being focused on improving my craft; trying to digest and take in anything that would make me better at what I do. I have being going from YouTube videos, to udemy courses, to books. I was leisurely scrolling through my recent read list and I came across it and for sure I knew I wanted to see what it contains.

TEJBKH3TQE2LVfeUI7sC__pack800.png
image source

text15.png

Joel Grimes is a big name in the photography industry. He has being a commercial photographer for over 30 years. I first thought to myself that before I start reading this, I'd have to do a little background search on the author and he is superb Its a short ebook about 40 pages and it cost about $27 and its worth it. One thing I loved about the book was that for each chapter/steps, the author puts an a photograph of his, a beautiful one at that and also the set-up used in achieving the result. He also chipped in a bit of personal story and experience for some of the steps and that sure does add a credibility to the whole thing. There are ten lessons he highlighted that are very pertinent in my opinion, to the growth of a photographer. Just so I don't give spoilers, I'd just list a few of my favorites.

text15.png

Practice your craft more that your competition

When I saw this title I knew I was on the right track. The author made a very important point here, "put in more hours". I realized that to be better at anything, one has to put in the work. Hours of learning and incessant practicing is a very important ingredient.

text15.png

Recognize that not everyone would love your work.

This has to be the most important lesson for me. I have gotten a lot of critic for my work, people saying I should do this, I shouldn't do this, I should try this and all that. I have gone through all this loads of shit and for one thing, they have helped me. I think its important that you understand that not everyone would be a fan, it all just boils them to you, your personal choice, your path. your goal, what you seek to achieve with your work.

text15.png

Build a trustworthy brand

You know how good it feels when someone sees your work somewhere and say they know it was from you even before seeing the credits. Its about building that reputation that is going to stand, that would go before your to your potential client before you even see them.

I really liked the book. Also, this is in no way an endorsement, marketing or advert. Joel doesn't even know I exist. I just read a book, liked it, and thought I'd share for whoever would be interested.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency