Dodge City Kansas The Chase of a Lifetime

DSC_0106.jpg

May 24th 2016 was the chase of a life time for me and many others. When I woke up that morning I was not expecting to see what I ended up seeing. That morning I woke up to an enhanced risk and a 10% chance of tornados. I woke up excited and hit the road headed North towards Kansas. I arrived in the Mineola, Kansas area around 3 now it was just a waiting game.

4.jpg

Finally, around 430 to 5 the storms slowly started to get going, they were a little slow to organize but around 6 o'clock the storms really started to take off once it latched onto a previous outflow boundary. For the next 30 minutes this supercell put on a show. This supercell managed to produce multiple tornados sometimes two on the ground at once and even at one time 3. I had truly never seen a storm like this.

open sea tornado.jpg

This will go down has one of my all time favorite chase days. The Dodge City supercell was truly one of a kind. Thankfully this storm stayed out over open fields for the most part, those are the kind of supercells that we like.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now