Alternative photographic processes

I recently posted here about some experiments with cyanotype and today I will continue to tell you about my new challenges with alternative processes.

I continue to use cyanotype to print images by hand and in a homemade way. This has been a very fun and always surprising experiment. But I'm really not a big fan of images with the natural blue tone of the cyanotype. So I have been trying to make some recipes to tone them. Here are some more results from images that I toned with coffee. They were submerged for at least 24 hours in the water and coffee powder solution.

The two first images were photographed by me digitally and are from my archives. Then I "developed" them with the cyanotype process, bleached them with sodium carbonate and then let them rest for a day or two in the coffee and water solution (putting cold and hot water at the beginning of the process).

After scanning the images to convert them back to digital file, I did some cropping and adjustments to merge them (third photo) into Ps. But these files received no change in color, brightness, or contrast... so what you are seeing is actually the color of the coffee toned result.

In the third photo, on the left you have a cyanotype experiment done with plants (flowers I found in a park) and on the right an old photo from my family album edited to produce the effect of polka dots.

I tokenized these experiments and if you are a collector of NFTs you can find them in my latest collection, named Under the South America Sun.

Who am I.jpg

Sem Título-1.jpg

Family tree.jpg

Hope you like it and see you soon.

:)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center