📷 Sunset over Cabaraya Volcano

Today I have here a nice sunset over a mountain group, headed by the stratovolcano Cabaraya. It is located in Bolivia, which I have not been to yet — but is very close to the border with Chile, a little more than 3 kilometers away. The volcano is perfectly visible from Chile, so it is from there (from the village of Colchane near the border) I photographed it one evening, delighted by the beautiful sight.

Literally 10-15 minutes before the start of this furious, bright illumination of the sky, the landscape looked something like this. Also nice, especially the sunlit top of Cabaraya volcano and the left slope, but still, how much of a difference!

And on the right edge of the mountain group, the clouds created an almost solid pink and lilac background for the mountains.

Here is a wider panorama of the whole view. By the way, the absolute height of the volcano's summit is a solid 5869 m above sea level, but because it is located on the Altiplano (Andean plateau), a high-mountain plateau, it seems that these mountains are not high at all. So, Colchane, where I took these photos, is located at an altitude of 3702 m.

It's better to watch the photos in high resolution.


Camera: OLYMPUS E-M1 Mark II


You can also see my photos in my blog LJ and in my profile on RTraveler. You also can read a short interview with me here.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments