Tonight's Donner Lake Sunset

Alright, this one was easy. No hiking, no cross-country skiing. This is across the street from my pad and it took me about 1 minute to walk there. It's been lightly snowing most of the day. I noticed it was clearing up a bit right before sunset so I grabbed the camera and went for a little walk. I really didn't think there would be a chance for much color, but you never know, and I needed to stretch my legs, so I figured I would try.

Boom!!! The color looking to the east exploded with a vibrant pink. Looking west, there was no color, only clouds that were snowing. This photo is not going to be my next "best seller", but it's nice and I felt like mission accomplished, even though it wasn't much of a mission at all.

_Q1A4701.jpg

Shot handheld with a Canon 5DS R and a 24-105mm lens. The ISO was 640, the lens aperture was f/4, and the exposure time was 1/100 of a second. No tripod was used so the lens image stabilization was turned on in order to help get a sharp shot at that slow of a shutter speed.

While out there I saw a big NOPE! If you look closely at the photo below, you can see a man swimming in the lake. Yes, there is snow on the shoreline, and this is the same lake that I have posted with ice along the shoreline recently. I'll never understand those "polar plunge" folks who like swimming in icy water. I know it's supposedly good for you, but NOPE! You'll never catch me swimming in water that cold.

_Q1A4686.jpg

Thanks for looking and I hope you all had a great (and warm) day today!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

headshotwlogo.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now