This Morning's Sunrise At Emerald Bay, Lake Tahoe

It was another stunner of a sunrise! This time at Eagle Falls, above Emerald Bay at Lake Tahoe, California.

My alarm clock was set for 4am, it went off, and suddenly I woke up at 4:35. Ooops!!! So I rushed to get dressed, skipped breakfast and stretching, and hit the road to a spot that is hard to go wrong at. Emerald Bay is an incredible part of Lake Tahoe. It often has tons of tourists in the area who stop to take pictures and take in the beauty. I love shooting sunrises at this spot as there are usually very few other people there that early. I saw one other photographer out there today, but I had this area all to myself. It was very peaceful.

EagleFallsSunriseIcy.jpg

Shot with a Canon 5DSr and a 16-35mm lens. Multiple horizontal photos were taken and stitched together using Adobe Photoshop. The ISO for the images was 50, the lens aperture was f/20, and each exposure was 2.5 seconds long. A graduated neutral density filter was used on the front of the lens. A tripod was also used.

20220120_065017.jpg

Tons of fun out there! After the sunrise, I had fun shooting Eagle Falls and ice along the creek from down below this vantage point. Look for those photos soon... It was incredible slippery, but fortunately I had my new crampons for my boots, I love those things! Felt totally safe, no slipping at all.

Thank you for looking, I hope you are all have a great day out there.

Scott Thompson
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

portraitandlogo.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments