This Morning's Sunrise And Inversion (4 New Photos)

There was another great inversion this morning! My goal was for a great sunrise, it was ok... But once again, the photoshoot was saved by the inversion! Donner Lake is under that inversion somewhere. This spot is about a 10 minute drive, then a 15 minute hike from my house here in Truckee, California.

I posted some daytime photos of this spot a few days ago. Glad I scouted this location ahead of time and took a gps tagged phone photo. I would have had difficulty finding it again in the dark but my phone brought me right back to where I wanted to go.

This first image is a stitched panoramic photo. 14 vertical photos were stitched together using PTGui to create this very wide angle view, about 180 degrees. Two graduated neutral density filters were used on the front of the lens. The ISO for each image was 400, the aperture was f/10, and each exposure was 1/20 of a second long. A flash was used in order to light up the boulders in the foreground. Without the flash, the boulders were pretty much a silhouette.

_Q1A1988 DonnerPanorama.jpg

Here are some other photos of the scene, shot with similar settings and varying lens focal lengths.

_Q1A1943.jpg

_Q1A2013.jpg

_Q1A2051.jpg

20220324_071150.jpg

Another beautiful morning out there! I hope you all are having a great day too.

Scott Thompson
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

portraitandlogo.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now