This Morning's Sunrise Above Donner Lake

Another beautiful morning in Truckee, California!

This morning's sunrise was forecasted to be just ok according to the SkyFire app. I woke up early anyway as yesterday's sunrise was incredible. The only problem was that I saw yesterday's sunrise from my deck after Quill dog demanded that I take him out. Missed it!

Today, I was running a bit later than I had hoped so I decided to keep it easy and go to a vista point above Donner Lake that gets cleared of snow for easy parking. The color had started when I arrived so there was no time for snowshoes and a hike.

No problem though, it's hard to go wrong in the Donner Summit area, especially when the colors fire off at sunrise or sunset. The SkyFire app was wrong, I would call this a pretty decent sunset. The colorful burst wasn't a 10 out of 10, but the image is definitely print worthy!

Donner Snowy Sunrise.jpg

Shot on a Canon 5DS R with a 24-105mm lens. Stiched panormic photo. ISO 200, f/20, and each of the 17 stiched images were 1/4 of a second long. A tripod was used, but no lens filters this time.

20230103_095510.gif

You can see my Pathfinder in the distance on the left. A nice easy photoshoot location this morning.
20230103_070623.jpg

Thank you for looking and I hope you all have a great day!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

headshotwlogo.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now