"Smooooke On The Water"... Another Beautiful Morning At Donner Lake Today!

Yup, another Donner Lake photo. Guess what? You're going to see many more now that I live across the street from this scene!
"I'm so lucky I live in Truckee!" - That's a bumper sticker around here, and yup, I'm feeling it. I've been getting to witness incredible scenes here at Donner Lake every day. My old house was 10 minutes away and it wasn't bad, but I can now see the lake from my window, evaluate the conditions, get dressed, grab the gear, and go!

These were shot this morning. I almost feel like I'm cheating now as there really wasn't much effort to get to this location 🤣.

_Q1A0226.jpg

Both of these were shot with the Canon 5DS R and a 16-35mm lens. A tripod and shutter release cable were used. No lens filters. A small lens aperture of f/22 was used in the top image, in order to get the best sunburst that I could. Two flash units were used in the bottom photo, in order to get a little bit of light on those boulders that were in the shade.

_Q1A0211.jpg
Yes, that is snow in the distance. It snowed a bit yesterday night and it's been cold enough that it has stuck around! It was 26 °F. Winter is coming...


I better be careful living here, or I'm going to end up with some deep smile wrinkles...

20231027_090733.jpg

Thank you for looking and I hope you all have a great day!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

headshotwlogo.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center