Sad Sloppy Snowman

Well, I tried to get out for more photos this afternoon. I figured I'd get some exercise on the backcountry cross-country skis and bring the Canon camera along, to see what I could see. It had been raining at the elevation where I live, but I checked the webcams and it was snowing up higher. So I drove a distance away, uphill. Unfortunately, by the time I got there it was raining there too :(

I drove back down to my elevation and was going to go home without skiing, but then the sky started to clear a bit and the rain stopped. I decided to go to an area nearby that I have not skied at yet. At the bottom of the hill, it was wet and sloppy. The conditions were not ideal at all for cross-country skiing. Up the hill a bit, I ran into this sad snowman. The frown on the face made me laugh as I was feeling the same way. Oh well, I kept on going.

20240122_163130-2.jpg

After a while, I reached a higher elevation and the snow was actually quite nice. Not perfect, but good enough to make me happy. I eventually reached this spot above a frozen over pond. Not quite photogenic enough for me to get out the Canon but it was cell phone photo worthy. The exercise and being outdoors had me in a much better mood compared to when I first started.

20240122_160049-2.jpg

I eventually made it back to the snowman. The conditions hadn't changed but at least I was going downhill instead of uphill through the sloppy snow. When I saw the snowman, I decided to take a selfie with it. And of course, I had to turn his frown upside down.

20240122_163359-2.jpg

No keeper photos were taken with the Canon camera, but I still had a great time out there, exploring and scouting for future photo locations...

I hope you all had a great day and if you're frowning, do something to turn it upside down!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

headshotwlogo.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center