Frost Along The Truckee River

While waiting for an oil change on my car today, I decided to go for a little walk along the nearby Truckee River in Downtown Truckee, California. I had packed my camera in my backpack, anticipating the wait and knowing that I would get bored and want to get some exercise.

It was another chilly morning in Truckee, so I was looking for icy scenes to shoot. It didn't take long before I found these frost covered plants along the Truckee River. The sun was shining on the frost, lighting it up and making it glow. The Truckee River backdrop was the cherry on top. Score! I was happy with these photos and shooting them was a great way to kill some time while I waited.

_Q1A6703.jpg

Shot handheld with the Canon 5DS R and a 24-105mm lens. The ISO was 400, the shutter speed was 1/125 of a second long, and the lens apertures were f/22. I wanted a nice small lens aperture in order to get a good depth of field, and to try to capture the background a bit. The background is not completely sharp because I was zoomed in on the plants and frost, and they were close to my lens. If I had used wide lens apertures, the background would be even more soft and out of focus, you would not be able to tell it was a river at all.

_Q1A6697.jpg

_Q1A6677.jpg


Here's a quick YouTube Short, so you can get a better look at the river and the scene.

https://youtube.com/shorts/U2iJuTb25Xo

Thanks for looking, and I hope you are all having a cool day!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

headshotwlogo.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now