Kop van Zuid, Rotterdam







K O P   V A N   Z U I D

Architecture / R o t t e r d a m

by Ruben Cress






Ruben Cress | Kop van Zuid








S u m m a r y

On a hot Summer day in the end of June, 2016, I was driving around the Netherlands. If I recall correctly, I visited my cousin in Amsterdam and was on my way back home. While I was driving, the Sun started to set and I could see the beginning of a beautiful Sunset. Even though Rotterdam wasn't on my route back home, I decided to make a short detour to take photographs around the harbor of Rotterdam. Usually, the harbor is full of smog, and it is hard to see what's on the other side of the harbor. But not today. While I took a few time-lapses there, the "Kop van Zuid" is a building that definitely catches attention.

In post-production, I've cleaned the entire image and wiped everything smooth. I used a few techniques to reduce noise. But I do like to have some grain in my photographs, so I added film grain back in. The reason why I removed it first, so I can add it back later, is to have a bit more control over the end result. You can definitely see the structure of the noise added in the close-ups down below.








Ruben Cress | Kop van Zuid







Ruben Cress | Kop van Zuid







Ruben Cress | Kop van Zuid







Ruben Cress | Kop van Zuid





C A M E R A   D E T A I L S
Camera Canon 5D MARK II
Lens Canon 50 mm USM L f/1.4
Shutterspeed "3.2
Aperture f/9.0
ISO 100







Have you ever been to Rotterdam?

Hope you enjoyed the photograph and the close-ups of Kop van Zuid. Somehow, it always amazes me how -much- detail can be recovered from photographs and how much there is to see.

Cheers,
Ruben




Follow me on Foundation | Follow me on Twitter | Follow me on Instagram



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center