The birdlife here.

Now take a look at what it was hiding behind it.
054.jpg

This is a Cape Spurfowl (Pternistis capensis), and a first that I see them with a small baby.

I had to take the photos on the zoom, as these birds are very skittish, and they will disappear at the slightest abnormal movements. But then, my eagerness to get a closer shot of the baby roused the parent's suspicions as she saw me, no matter that I tried my best to remain unobtrusive. Meaning that after my third shot, they fled with the baby into the bushes. Drat, drat and drat, you can imagine how I felt when they disappeared. I was so intent on getting a closer shot of the baby, but it just was not my day.

This was when daddy noticed me, and he gave me a look.
057.JPG

That baby was a picture of cuteness, and then they ran into the bushes.
066.JPG

I have shown you a little sunbird on this pipe before, and here was a Fork-tailed Drongo (Dicrurus adsimilis) sitting on the pipe now.
023.JPG

It is mating season now in spring, and I just knew that they were going to give me a show.
087.JPG

084.JPG

They are Speckled pigeons (Columba guinea) making babies.
085.JPG

Finally, a predator came over.
103.JPG

We have, once again, had several cold fronts hitting our coasts, and colors in the sky change quickly due to the clouds. One has to know if a cloud carries water, and in our early days here I often got very wet outside in nature. Thankfully, now, I know how to spot a light grey cloud and a slightly darker grey cloud. The difference is that the light grey cloud is okay and the slightly darker one carries rain. The big problem here is as we are at the start of the spring season, the cold fronts just keep on continuing coming in. Even the farmers are confused, and they are worried about their crops, as the water should have stopped weeks ago. But no, and now their crops are in danger.
Such is life.

I hope you have enjoyed the story and the pictures.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon PowershotSX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting this post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center