Some bird action to share today.

A variety of birds on show, and a smile at the end of the post.
225.JPG

My heart always accelerates when I get a rare sight of the famous African Fish Eagle.

Believe me when I say that I can only get the eagle on rare occasions, but when I hear its loud call then I go all agog trying to get him on camera. The thing is, that the eagle's call can be heard from miles away, and quite often we cannot see him, even though we hear his call. We have many eagle species here, but this guy is my favorite.
Wikipedia also has some great information about the African Fish Eagle, and you can take a look at it HERE

Yep, as usual he was high up, but I managed to get him on the zoom.
227.JPG

Then a look here at a hunting Egret.

I think that the egret saw something and he rushed off to get it.
096.JPG

Here below he pulled up the emergency brake.
089.JPG

And a smooth landing on the algae cover on the water.
090.JPG

I waited to see what the egret would catch, but sadly he didn't get anything.
098.JPG

Now for the smile.

Did you know that Pied Crows have an internal scale?

A pied crow sat inspecting a Kentucky Fry packet.
044.JPG

He flew up to weigh the packet, as if it was heavy then there might be some food scraps inside the packet.
022.JPG

The packet was empty, and the crow dropped it.
061.JPG

No need for the crow to waste it's time ripping the packet apart as he weighed it, and it is said that crows are of the most intelligent birds of all the bird species. I wonder what the crow thought about the person that dropped that empty packet on the grass. Maybe the crow thought that the person was a real cheapskate, as the person could have at least left a bone or two inside the packet. But such is life, and I am sure that the crow went on to score something elsewhere.

I love to put little stories to the pictures that I take, and I also, at times, equate it to our own human lives. Sometimes I let the birds talk to each other, and at other times I concentrate on their thoughts which I can guarantee you is nothing like our human thoughts. But in some ways, the birds are very similar to us as they are always searching for something to eat :))
What we have noticed, is that the people standing at the traffic lights, with boards hanging on their chests stating "Please help! No job and family to feed", want only money. We have tried to give them packets of food, but they throw it away as they want money to go and buy drugs.
A sad affair.

I hope you have enjoyed the pictures and the story.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon PowershotSX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting this post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments